llangoed hall ▴ llyswen, powys, wales
the hall, originally known as llangoed castle, was donated to the church in 560 by prince iddon in expiation of his sins, and may have been the legendary white palace, home of the first welsh parliament. a mansion existed from 1632. it was in the possession of the macnamara family for two generations until 1847, having been won in a game of cards. it now functions as a hotel. the house has a number of curiosities and is rumoured by local folklore to have a ghost named arginald, a boy who committed suicide in the 1940s. a family cemetery nearby contains the grave of a horse.