Mains Castle built by the Lindsays, dates from around the late 15th or early 16th century and is located about 1.5 miles north of East Kilbride, Lanarkshire.
The property (before the castle was built) belonged to the powerful Comyn family but later came into the possession of John Lindsay of Dunrod. He was the son of James Lindsay, who in 1306 with Kirkpatrick of Closeburn, ran into the church of the Minorities at Dumfries, after Robert the Bruce had stabbed the Red Comyn, declaring that they would ‘mak siccar’ (in other words, to finish the job and make sure that Comyn would indeed die).
This family of Lindsays grew very powerful, but had a reputation for cruelty. The last of the line seems to have been the most vicious. Legend has it that after an argument on a frozen loch during a curling match with one of his vassals, Lindsay ordered a hole to be cut in the ice and had the unfortunate man pushed into it. The loch, Crawford’s Hole, was allegedly named after Lindsay’s victim. Lindsay eventually lost his wealth and supposedly died in a barn belonging to one of his former tenants.