library wishlist

amazon.com
Teaching-everydayisdifferent Classroom Wish List
Items that would help my classroom continue to be a great environment for learning.

In light of the events this weekend I have added more diverse books to my classroom wish list.  I have always been passionate about showing my students that they are represented in literature, but lately I have also been thinking about how much fiction can teach us about each other. 

I did not add my list to the yearly tumblr post, but I am putting it out there now in hopes of putting new YA books with POC into my students’ hands.

4

Wishlist Wednesday | Nerdy Candles: For Nerds by Frostbeard

Calling all fellow bookworms out there! Frostbeard, an Etsy shop run by Roxie and Tom, has created book-themed scented candles which, although I haven’t had the fortune to sniff out yet, sound like they would smell like a whole lot of wonderful. If you don’t believe me, here’s a list of some of their scents from the Book Lover’s Series to get y'all interested:

Old Books - Inspired by the smell of old books! Ideal for bibliophiles of all sorts. The scent is a sweet, earthy smell with a hint of must. (Not mildewy, rotten old books!) It will make you want to curl up with your favorite Classic. Scents: Timber, White Tea, Newsprint, Must.

Sherlock’s Study - Inspired by Sherlock Holmes and perfect for fans of Arthur Conan Doyle. It is cozy and sweetly rich. Curl up with a book while burning this candle and imagine yourself on Baker Street with the great sleuth. You can practically hear his violin playing while he works out his latest case! Scents: Sweet pipe tobacco, cherry wood and fresh rain.

Tea. Earl Grey. Hot - This nerdy candle is a completely original scent and inspired by one of our favorite shows, Star Trek! Jean-Luc Picard’s favorite drink: Tea. Earl Grey. Hot. This candle smells just like a hot cuppa Earl Grey, with the orange bergamot and tea scent and is an excellent gift for any Trekkie. Scents: Bergamot.

The Shire - Inspired by Hobbiton and perfect for fans of the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. The scent is a fresh blend of earthy notes. Scents: Oakmoss, clover, aloe, with a hint of sweet cherry pipe tobacco!

Check out their shop at the link below to purchase these and other candles including Winterfell (scotch pine and firewood), Dumbledore’s Office (vanilla, fireplace and lemon), the Oxford Library (oakmoss, amber, sandalwood, with hints of tobacco and leather), Eau de Klingon (lilac and Irish moss), Pemberley Rose (fresh roses with a hint of lilac and hyacinth) and even Trashy Romance Novel (Sex on the Beach (peachy) and Love Spell (floral)) haha!

Honestly, what helped with my Steam addiction more than anything was starting to maintain a proper wishlist. You wouldn’t think that would help me purchase fewer games, but it totally did; clicking “add to wishlist” is just a good as clicking “add to cart” in terms of registering approval, and knowing that I rarely have time to actually play all of my games anyway, it’s largely immaterial to me whether a particular unplayed game is in my library or on my wishlist.