The legendary railway, Pelion Mount

The historical rail link between Volos – Milies Pelion is the famous route of the legandary railway of Pelion’. The line was opened in 1903. It was a ground-breaking project for its time as it linked the industrial centre of Volos with the fertile area of west Pelion mount, a place producing a great many agricultural products, such as oil. This train was one of the favourite subjects in Giorgio de Chirico’s paintings, whilst the bridges along the line are a special attraction.

Today the Pelion railway is living a second heyday. It was reopened in 1996 and is now simply a tourist attraction as there is no longer a need for transporting goods. The route begins from Lechonia, climbs up through stunning countryside and traditional villages, like Ano Gatzea, Agia Triada, Agios Athanasios Pinakaton, Argyreika, and terminates after 25 exceptional kilometres in Milies. A few hours later, during which time the visitor can enjoy strolling through the village and its surroundings, the train returns to Lechonia.