Go Janet ! Go Janet ! Go Janet !

MTV Video Vanguard Award Winners

The Video Vanguard Award is given to musicians who have made a profound effect on the MTV culture and the art of the music video, honoring an artist’s body of work. The award was renamed in 1991 as the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award. The award is also given to music video directors who have created some of the most acclaimed music videos in pop culture.


1984: David Bowie, The Beatles, Richard Lester

1985: David Byrne, Russell Mulcahy, Godley & Creme

1986: Madonna, Zbigniew Rybczyński 

1987: Peter Gabriel, Julian Temple

1988: Michael Jackson

1989: George Michael

1990: Janet Jackson

1991: Bon Jovi, Wayne Isham

1992: Guns N Roses

1994: Tom Petty, Rolling Stones

1995: R.E.M

1997: Mark Romanek, LL Cool J

1998: Beastie Boys

1999: Red Hot Chili Peppers

2001: U2

2003: Duran Duran

2006: Hype Williams

2011: Britney Spears

2013: Justin Timberlake

2014: Beyonce