Instead of supporting and listening to Melanie Martinez

Here’s a list of other females in the music industry you should listen

  • Kesha: incredible voice. Her new album is great honestly and she’s total role model.
  • Brittany Howard: a few of the WOC in the music industry. She’s the lead singer of alternative rock band Alabama Shakes.
  • St. Vincent: LGBTQ+ icon and a great singer. Her new album is awesome
  • Debbie Harry (Blondie): Still rocking after 40 years!
  • Romy Madley Croft: Great singing voice. She’s part of indie rock band The XX. Lgbtq+ icon.
  • Hayley Williams of Paramore
  • Lorde (actual queen) ♡
  • Regine Chassagne of Arcade Fire ♡♡♡ aka queen of the universe
  • Lady Gaga: awesome singer and a great role model
  • marina diamandis (i! just! love! her!, has a special place in my heart; absolute role model; writes on mental health)
  • nilufer yanya - only has a few songs out, but looks like she’s getting picked up more, poc, soul-indie-chill :-)
  • marika hackman - another lgbt+ icon, but most importantly makes amazing music (check out ‘boyfriend’ or some of her christmas music (lol))
  • amber bain from the japanese house - marika’s girlfriend (so also lgbt+), makes and produces her own stuff (i believe), and the genre is kind of indie-electro-echoes-chilling-chill (thats not a genre i know) :-)
  • billie eilish - 15 year old prodigy!!! (’ocean eyes’)
  •  BANKS
  • haim
  •  stevie nicks: Mother of pop
  •  ariana grande
  •  daughter
  • wolf alice
  •  gabrielle aplin
  • sia: QUEEN 
  •  oh wonder
  •  Lauren Mayberry of CHVRCHES
  •  grimes
  •  christina perri
  • london grammar
  • broods
  • blackpink (kpop group)
  • aurora
  • amy winehouse
  • florence and the machine
  • paloma faith
  • pvris
  • tegan and sara 
  • Beach house
  • Goldfrapp
  • Justine “queen of britpop and punk rock of the 90´s” Frischmann of Elastica
  • Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir of Of Monsters and Men
  • Zella Day
  • Matt and Kim
  • Hannah Hooper of Grouplove aka the queen of indie
  • Regina Spektor
  • P!nk
  • Lynn Gunn
  • Natalia Lafourcade (mexican singer)
  • Eisley
  • Elle King (country rock queen)
  • Britney Spears (honestly, best development)
  • Hayley Kiyoko the queen of lesbians and good pop music
  • Lana Del Rey
  • Janelle FREAKING Monáe NothING BUt ReSPECt fOR My QUeEn
  • Yuna : Great singer!! POC icon!!!
  • Karen O from The Yeah yeah yeahs
  • Carla Morrison(mexican singer)
  • Fiona Apple
  • Esmé Patterson
  • MonLaferte 
  • Alison Mosshart from The Kills/The Dead Weather
  • Charlene Kaye from San Fermin (Fun fact: She’s also in an all-girl Guns ‘n Roses tribute band)
  • Daya
  • Joan “legend” Jett from The Runaways
  • Bikini Kill
  • Ariel Bloomer of Icon for Hire
  • Carrie Underwood: Queen of country
  • Poppy
  • Against me!
  • Sydney Sierota of Echosmith

5 Years Time is ONR’s second single from his forthcoming debut EP, and with it, he’s thoroughly entrapped our souls and moved our hearts with the Scottish indie-electronic artist’s vast sprawling, melodic sweeping sound. The ear-turning alt talent infuses his music with a eclectic array of rock, new wave, electro, and pop to give us his high flying, synth florid music. At certain turns and swells, 5 Years Time nearly feels like The Killers’ more electronic based offerings crossed with Cold War Kids’ bluesy timbre. Despite its moody composite, 5 Years Time contains a glimmer of hope. It’s an anthem about keeping faith, and we most certainly need a boost when it comes to looking forward to the years ahead. Stream 5 Years Time via Spotify, here.

Made with SoundCloud

Denver melodic bass expert Illenium worked his fine magic on Marshmello’s collaboration with buzz sensation Khalid, Silence, and the end result is truly spellbinding and dulcet lilting. Silence takes on a dreamy pop charm and guitar driven indie rock tenderness under Illenium’s adroit guidance. Despite a swifter tempo, this is a melter of a feel good remix. It’s sweet and honeyed, bright eyed and sanguine, heartwarming and inspiring. And there’s just no resisting that wonderful guitar line that Illenium has so sagely added to the track. 

Made with SoundCloud

I love Fleetwood Mac, as do many other music heads I know. They’re huge influences on so many of our favorite bands and artists, and many have covered them over the years, particularly when it comes to quintessential Fleetwood classic, Dreams. We couldn’t help but gasp when a cover of Dreams surfaced courtesy of Young & Sick, the absolutely brilliant Dutch born, Los Angeles raised musician and visual artist whose been dropping our jaws with his creativity for the past few years. Right away, we knew that Nick van Hofwegen’s cover of Dreams would be a brilliant rendering, an imaginative and fresh ode to the original. With his waxy, glassy voice, reminiscent of Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor or Son Lux’s Ryan Lott, Young & Sick coos over a lavish soundscape that stays true to the original’s twanginess. But he instills in the song plenty of psychedelic intricacy and a whole lot of disco glam resplendence. The cover follows Young & Sick’s excellent new original Ojai, which you can re-visit, here. Watch a visual accompaniment for Young & Sick’s Dreams below, replete with a series of Nick’s personal interpretations of the original Dreams cover artwork.

Made with SoundCloud

Nashville’s R.LUM.R continues to showcase some exceptional vocal talent on his intensive new tune, Frustrated. The future vibing, soulful R&B ballad cuts to the marrow with its moody crooning and opulent production. R.LUM.R’s high flying, jaw dropping vocals evoke Gallant, full of electrifying passion and bursting at the seams with emotion. Frustrated leaves no doubt behind in its wake. This is one remarkable artist who’s surely going to make massive waves in the near future. Frustrated is out now on iTunes.

Made with SoundCloud

MGMT - “Alien Days” cooming soon… ♥