ignatz-awards

5

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

The Experts by Sophie Franz @sophiefranz (nominated by outstanding minicomic) @bigplanetcomics

A horror story with tons of atmosphere and touches of sardonic humor about 3 “experts” in a remote scientific facility, gradually losing touch with their mission and, perhaps, with reality.

For fans of John Carpenter’s The Thing, Olivier Schrauwen, Sweet Tooth

Check out the Experts and other Ignatz nominees on comiXology

Check out graphic novels on comiXology

2

Some quick portraits of the just-too-elegant Sasha and Johnny Velour I drew in the front row at the Ignatz Award ceremonies this weekend at spx!  Sasha Velour ( sahsashas ) was a shimmering undersea dream in teal paired with a long blonde Donatella wig, and Johnny Velour ( vymmagazine ) was her perfect accessory, topped with a mint tulle bow.  Despite her obvious shyness, Sasha graciously accepted her “unexpected” hostess duties from James Sturm and awarded bricks with aplomb.<3

hollywoodreporter.com
DC to Launch New 'Supergirl' Origin Comic Book In December (Exclusive)
'Supergirl: Being Super' will be written by the award-winning writer of 'This One Summer.'

With this month’s launch of a new ongoing monthly comic book and the debut of the second season of her television show next month, DC Entertainment’s Supergirl is flying higher than she has in quite some time right now. This December, the character’s profile will be raised even further with the launch of a new mini-series from an all-star creative team, retelling her origin story for a new generation.

Supergirl: Being Super will be a four-issue series written by Mariko Tamaki, whose coming-of-age drama This One Summer, illustrated by her cousin Jillian Tamaki, won both Ignatz and Eisner Awards for best graphic novel, as well as receiving a Printz Honor and Randolph Caldecott Medal in 2015. Art on the series will come from Eisner Award-nominee Joelle Jones, co-creator of the fan-favorite Lady Killer and Helheim series. Set outside of regular continuity, the series will offer an updated take on Kara Zor-El’s earliest days on Earth.

7

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

Megg and Mogg in Amsterdam by Simon Hanselmann (nominated for outstanding story and outstanding series) @girlmountain @fantagraphics

Simon Hanselmann’s Megg and Mogg is a low-key stoner comedy, frequently hilarious, often tragic and always poignantly insightful about the inertia and malaise of its self-destructive principals.  When Megg and Mogg travel to Amsterdam (followed by the uptight and unwelcome Owl), their relationship starts to deteriorate in this New York Times bestselling collection of brilliant stories (originally serialized on Vice).

For fans of Boy’s Club, Ernie Pook’s Comeek, Blobby Boys, Octopus Pie, Girls, Broad City, Trailer Park Boys

Check out our interview with Simon Hanselmann

Check out Ignatz nominees on comiXology

Check out graphic novels on comiXology

4

I’ll be attending SPX tomorrow and the day after! Come see me at table J11 with comix buddy Sam Alden. To my shock and delight I was nominated for 3 Ignatz awards this year… many thanks to the jury! I hope to see you there, come say hi!

6

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

Octopus Pie by Meredith Gran (nominated for outstanding webcomic) @octopuspiecomic

Meredith Gran has published more than 900 strips of her ongoing webcomic about the acerbic Eve Ning and her slacker roommate Hanna Thompson, garnering a large, devoted following and critical acclaim.  Four volumes of Octopus pie have been collected so far by Image Comics.

For fans of Broad City, Girls, Louie, Peter Bagge’s Hate

The winners of the 2016 Ignatz Awards will be announced next month at @spx

Check out other Ignatz nominees on comiXology

5

Congratulations to all the Fantagraphics artists nominated for this year’s Ignatz Awards at SPX!

Outstanding Artist
Ed Luce, “Wuvable Oaf”
Noah Van Sciver, “Saint Cole”

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
“How To Be Happy,” by Eleanor Davis

Outstanding Graphic Novel
“Saint Cole,” by Noah Van Sciver

Outstanding Story
“Doctors,” by Dash Shaw
“Nature Lessons,” by Marguerite Van Cook and James Romberger (from The Late Child and Other Animals)

washingtonpost.com
From Tamaki to Rilly, here are your 2015 SPX Ignatz Award nominees
From Jillian Tamaki to Ethan Rilly to Google artist Sophia Foster-Dimino, here are your nominees for Small Press Expo's 2015 Ignatz Awards.
By https://www.facebook.com/comicriffs

I got nominated for the Outstanding Online Ignatz Award! I might be going home from SPX with a brick in my luggage! If you’re attending SPX this year, vote for me!