ignatz-awards

5

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

The Experts by Sophie Franz @sophiefranz (nominated by outstanding minicomic) @bigplanetcomics

A horror story with tons of atmosphere and touches of sardonic humor about 3 “experts” in a remote scientific facility, gradually losing touch with their mission and, perhaps, with reality.

For fans of John Carpenter’s The Thing, Olivier Schrauwen, Sweet Tooth

Check out the Experts and other Ignatz nominees on comiXology

Check out graphic novels on comiXology

4

Wow, Maps to the Suns, my basketball minicomic from last year got nominated for an Ignatz Award in the Outstanding Minicomic category!

This is the first comic award I’ve been nominated for and its so exciting to be up there with the rest of the nominees, especially my amazing friend @octopuspiecomic​!

I only printed a small run of this comic so its now online to download (free/pay what you want) and read!

PS: Maps to the Suns, while a standalone comic, is also a prologue to a longer graphic novel currently in the works ;-)

As English language readers await Michael DeForge’s A Body Beneath, which collects issues 2-5 of his multi-award winning one-person anthology series Lose, French language readers also have a Lose collection to look forward to! Featuring a stunning new cover, Lose is set to be published by the wonderful Swiss-based publisher Les Éditions Atrabile. Look for both collections in 2014!

Read all about the French edition at Les Éditions Atrabile’s site here!

7

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

Megg and Mogg in Amsterdam by Simon Hanselmann (nominated for outstanding story and outstanding series) @girlmountain @fantagraphics

Simon Hanselmann’s Megg and Mogg is a low-key stoner comedy, frequently hilarious, often tragic and always poignantly insightful about the inertia and malaise of its self-destructive principals.  When Megg and Mogg travel to Amsterdam (followed by the uptight and unwelcome Owl), their relationship starts to deteriorate in this New York Times bestselling collection of brilliant stories (originally serialized on Vice).

For fans of Boy’s Club, Ernie Pook’s Comeek, Blobby Boys, Octopus Pie, Girls, Broad City, Trailer Park Boys

Check out our interview with Simon Hanselmann

Check out Ignatz nominees on comiXology

Check out graphic novels on comiXology

VATTU WAS NOMINATED FOR AN IGNATZ AWARD!

How about THAT! I’m very excited about this! The Ignatz awards are maybe the most significant in independent or small-press comics, and I am in really excellent company. I will be at SPX in Bethesda this year (table W33!) where the winners will be announced!

Some other work that’s been nominated that I love:

Sam Bosma’s Fantasy Basketball! The Qu33r anthology! This One Summer by Jillian and Mariko Tamaki! A story from Octopus Pie by Meredith Gran! Cathy G. Johnson’s entire ouevre! House of Women by Sophie Goldstein! aaaaaa!!!!

Thank you to the jury for making such excellent choices and including my work among them.

cool!

5

Congratulations to all the Fantagraphics artists nominated for this year’s Ignatz Awards at SPX!

Outstanding Artist
Ed Luce, “Wuvable Oaf”
Noah Van Sciver, “Saint Cole”

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
“How To Be Happy,” by Eleanor Davis

Outstanding Graphic Novel
“Saint Cole,” by Noah Van Sciver

Outstanding Story
“Doctors,” by Dash Shaw
“Nature Lessons,” by Marguerite Van Cook and James Romberger (from The Late Child and Other Animals)

3

The 2013 Ignatz Award nominees have been announced!

Michael DeForge has three nominations, with his work in Lose #4 (9780987963000 | September 2012 | $8.00 | Trade Paper) garnering him an Outstanding Artist nod. His second nomination goes to the Lose series itself, which is nominated for Outstanding Series. DeForge’s third nomination is for his superb smorgasbord of the strange Very Casual (9780987963079 | May 2013 | $15.00 | Trade Paper), which is nominated for Outstanding Anthology or Collection.

Nathan Bulmer, the comical cartoonist behind the hilarious Eat More Bikes (9780987963048 | November 2012 | $10.00 | saddle-stitched), has been nominated for Promising New Talent.

The Ignatz Award is named after the character in George Herriman’s classic Krazy Kat comic strip, and has been nominated each year at the Small Press Expo (SPX) since 1997.

Check out the rest of the well-deserved nominations here!

3

Did you know… RAV 1ST COLLECTION by Mickey Zacchilli was nominated for an Ignatz Award in the category of “BEST GRAPHIC NOVEL” >>>!

The Ignatz Awards is the festival prize of the Small Press Expo, recognizing outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. The ballots for the Ignatz Awards are cast in-person by the attendees of SPX, in two weeks on September 19-20th. 

In celebration of RAV’s nomination, we have two exciting announcements:

If you’ve been waiting… now is the time to check out RAV 1ST COLLECTION, and follow Juice, Sally, The Snake Prince, a mystery cat, and other bizarre friends as they navigate an esoteric whirlwind of dorks, punks, passive-aggression, kisses, weird basements, and bad breakfast spots.

“No book released in 2014 carried the same gut-punch mixture of adrenaline-fueled action and surreal comedy as Mickey Zacchilli’s RAV.
- Tim O'Neill, The AV Club’s Best Comics of 2014 list

A Small Revolution nominated at the 2016 SPX Ignatz Awards (wowza)

In the Outstanding Online Comic category!

It’s an honour to be there with all those crazy talented comic artists and cartoonists! It’s the first time my comic work is recognized outside of Quebec/Canada, and it means a whole lot to me because it shows translating it from French to English was worth it, and finding a publisher for an eventual book version is worth it, too.

Congratulations to all the other nominees! Comics are awesome!

(You can read A Small Revolution right here, right now.)

AS THE CROW FLIES WAS NOMINATED FOR AN IGNATZ!

If you’re going to be at SPX this year and want to catch up on your Ignatz reading, you can read the whole dang comic for free right here!  It’s a story about queer/trans teens, Christian youth camp, and trekking up a whooooole lotta mountains.  If that’s your kinda thing, you can vote for it in the “Outstanding Comic” category!

Thanks for all your support everyone!  I’m incredibly honored to be included in this year’s all-around-excellent roster of nominees.

6

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

Octopus Pie by Meredith Gran (nominated for outstanding webcomic) @octopuspiecomic

Meredith Gran has published more than 900 strips of her ongoing webcomic about the acerbic Eve Ning and her slacker roommate Hanna Thompson, garnering a large, devoted following and critical acclaim.  Four volumes of Octopus pie have been collected so far by Image Comics.

For fans of Broad City, Girls, Louie, Peter Bagge’s Hate

The winners of the 2016 Ignatz Awards will be announced next month at @spx

Check out other Ignatz nominees on comiXology

I am back from SPX where my comic book Gold Star won the Ignatz Award for Outstanding Story.

It is very strange to stand on stage, accepting an award for a story about a character accepting an award. And even stranger to affix a gold sticker to a book with that title.

Big thanks to Box Brown and everything he does for Retrofit Comics. I wouldn’t have written this story had he not asked me to be a part of Retrofit.

Thanks also to everyone who voted, and a tip of my hat to my fellow nominees, Dan Zettwoch, Lilli Carré, Tom Hart, and Joanna Hellgren.

IGNATZ AWARDS HONOR INDIE CREATORS AND ALTERNATIVE WORK WITH 2014 NOMINATIONS

By Zainab Akhtrar

The Small Press Expo (SPX) announced the full list of nominees for the 2014 Ignatz Awards this week; with an aim to celebrate outstanding achievements in independent and alternative comics and cartooning, the awards are named after George Herriman’s brick-wielding mouse from his Krazy Kat comic strip, recognising exceptional work within the medium. Nominees are determined by a panel of cartoonists, this year comprised of Whit Taylor, Melissa Mendes, Thien Pham, Darryl Ayo, and Austin English, with votes cast only by attendees during SPX to decide the eventual winners.

This year’s slate of nominees is a pretty wide range of books and authors, which is an indicator of how encompassing the terms and area of independent and alternative comics have become. I’m especially pleased to see Sophie Goldstein recognised for the superb House of Women, Sophie Yanow for War of Streets and Houses, John Martz’s Destination X (which I thought had gone largely unnoticed upon release last September), Cathy G. Johnston in the promising new talent category, Jason Shiga for his online comic, Demon -- which is simply one of the best comics this year and you should be reading — and Farel Dalrymple‘s It Will All Hurt #2. This One Summer by Jillian and Mariko Tamaki makes the list, too — I expect that book to win a whole host of awards — along with Beautiful Darkness by Fabien Vehlmann and Kerascoet, as it’s the only 2014 book about which I’ve heard unanimously good to excellent things across the board.

Regardless of what you think about awards, the one thing I love about them is that they always introduce me to a host of new artists and work, and I’d urge you to check out at least a couple of the excellent authors and books from the complete list of nominees.

COMPLETE IGNATZ NOMINEES LIST

6

The book I edited, QU33R (2014, Northwest Press) has been nominated for an Ignatz Award, in the Outstanding Anthology or Collection category, at SPX this weekend! If you’re attending SPX, consider a vote for QU33R! The awards ceremony will be held Saturday night, 9/13. 

Here’s the last of the excerpts I’ve been running this week to celebrate the book and the nomination. Naturally a lot of the comics in QU33R focus on romance, sex, & longing, as in these pages from Carrie McNinch, Sina Sparrow, Justin Hall, Kris Dresen, and me, Rob Kirby. Once again, major props to Michael Fahy for his gorgeous face-of-QU33R cover. Ignatz hype aside, I’m very proud of this book and grateful to all the creators who helped make it a success.

QU33R will be on sale at SPX both days from the great ED “Wuvable Oaf” LUCE at table K7!