ignatz award

5

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

The Experts by Sophie Franz @sophiefranz (nominated by outstanding minicomic) @bigplanetcomics

A horror story with tons of atmosphere and touches of sardonic humor about 3 “experts” in a remote scientific facility, gradually losing touch with their mission and, perhaps, with reality.

For fans of John Carpenter’s The Thing, Olivier Schrauwen, Sweet Tooth

Check out the Experts and other Ignatz nominees on comiXology

Check out graphic novels on comiXology

hollywoodreporter.com
DC to Launch New 'Supergirl' Origin Comic Book In December (Exclusive)
'Supergirl: Being Super' will be written by the award-winning writer of 'This One Summer.'

With this month’s launch of a new ongoing monthly comic book and the debut of the second season of her television show next month, DC Entertainment’s Supergirl is flying higher than she has in quite some time right now. This December, the character’s profile will be raised even further with the launch of a new mini-series from an all-star creative team, retelling her origin story for a new generation.

Supergirl: Being Super will be a four-issue series written by Mariko Tamaki, whose coming-of-age drama This One Summer, illustrated by her cousin Jillian Tamaki, won both Ignatz and Eisner Awards for best graphic novel, as well as receiving a Printz Honor and Randolph Caldecott Medal in 2015. Art on the series will come from Eisner Award-nominee Joelle Jones, co-creator of the fan-favorite Lady Killer and Helheim series. Set outside of regular continuity, the series will offer an updated take on Kara Zor-El’s earliest days on Earth.

7

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

Megg and Mogg in Amsterdam by Simon Hanselmann (nominated for outstanding story and outstanding series) @girlmountain @fantagraphics

Simon Hanselmann’s Megg and Mogg is a low-key stoner comedy, frequently hilarious, often tragic and always poignantly insightful about the inertia and malaise of its self-destructive principals.  When Megg and Mogg travel to Amsterdam (followed by the uptight and unwelcome Owl), their relationship starts to deteriorate in this New York Times bestselling collection of brilliant stories (originally serialized on Vice).

For fans of Boy’s Club, Ernie Pook’s Comeek, Blobby Boys, Octopus Pie, Girls, Broad City, Trailer Park Boys

Check out our interview with Simon Hanselmann

Check out Ignatz nominees on comiXology

Check out graphic novels on comiXology

4

I’ll be attending SPX tomorrow and the day after! Come see me at table J11 with comix buddy Sam Alden. To my shock and delight I was nominated for 3 Ignatz awards this year… many thanks to the jury! I hope to see you there, come say hi!

6

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

Octopus Pie by Meredith Gran (nominated for outstanding webcomic) @octopuspiecomic

Meredith Gran has published more than 900 strips of her ongoing webcomic about the acerbic Eve Ning and her slacker roommate Hanna Thompson, garnering a large, devoted following and critical acclaim.  Four volumes of Octopus pie have been collected so far by Image Comics.

For fans of Broad City, Girls, Louie, Peter Bagge’s Hate

The winners of the 2016 Ignatz Awards will be announced next month at @spx

Check out other Ignatz nominees on comiXology

2016 Queer Comics Expo Tickets Now On Sale!

June 18-19, 2016
SOMArts Cultural Center
934 Brannan Street, San Francisco, CA


Get your tickets now! This year, QCE will be held in the new, expanded location of SOMArts Cultural Center, 934 Brannan Street, over Father’s Day Weekend on Saturday, June 18 and Sunday, June 19, 2016 from 11am to 5pm. Advance online ticket sales are discounted and offer deeper discounts for Cartoon Art Museum members. Tickets purchased at the “Unicorn” and “Double Rainbow” ticket levels include Cartoon Art Museum memberships and discounted admission to QCE. A Charity/Pay It Forward ticket will allow you to purchase QCE tickets to be donated to local queer nonprofits. 

2016 Queer Comics Expo exhibitors will include both of this year’s Prism Queer Press Grant Winners, Catherine Esguerra and Elizabeth Beier, plus Lambda Literary Award Finalist Alex Woolfson and Eisner Award nominee Scout Tran-Caffee. Additional guests include Steve MacIsaac and other contributors to the Ignatz Award-winning anthology QU33R. Multiple contributors to the upcoming anthology ALPHABET will also be in attendance.

Thanks to sponsors including Northwest Press, Oni Press, BOOM! Studios, California College of the Arts, MidBoss, and Prism Comics. Proceeds from ticket sales will be able to directly support the daily operations, offsite events, and educational programming at the Cartoon Art Museum during their transition to a new gallery space.

Tickets can be purchased online now at qcexpo.tumblr.com/tickets. Tickets will also be sold at the door on June 18 and 19. Subscribe to Queer Comics Expo updates by following us on qcexpo.tumblr.com and liking us on facebook.com/qcexpo

About Queer Comics Expo
QCE is an annual event to celebrate queer culture and promote diverse queer representation in comics, animation and other great ways to tell stories. QCE is a fundraiser for the Cartoon Art Museum, a 501©(3) educational non-profit.

About the Cartoon Art Museum
The Cartoon Art Museum’s key function is to preserve, document, and exhibit this unique and accessible art form. Through traveling exhibitions and other exhibit-related activities—such as cartoonists-in-residence, lectures, and outreach—the museum has taken cartoon art and used it to communicate cultural diversity in the community, as well as the importance of self-expression.

About the National Queer Arts Festival
Presented by the Queer Cultural Center, the National Queer Arts Festival (NQAF), now celebrating its nineteenth year, is a month-long festival of music, dance, visual art, spoken word, poetry, comedy, theater, and film featuring over 40 performances and exhibitions in multiple venues throughout San Francisco and Oakland.

About the Queer Cultural Center
Founded in 1993, the Queer Cultural Center is a multiracial community-building organization that fosters the artistic, economic and cultural development of San Francisco’s LGBTQI community.

washingtonpost.com
From Tamaki to Rilly, here are your 2015 SPX Ignatz Award nominees
From Jillian Tamaki to Ethan Rilly to Google artist Sophia Foster-Dimino, here are your nominees for Small Press Expo's 2015 Ignatz Awards.
By https://www.facebook.com/comicriffs

I got nominated for the Outstanding Online Ignatz Award! I might be going home from SPX with a brick in my luggage! If you’re attending SPX this year, vote for me!

5

Congratulations to all the Fantagraphics artists nominated for this year’s Ignatz Awards at SPX!

Outstanding Artist
Ed Luce, “Wuvable Oaf”
Noah Van Sciver, “Saint Cole”

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
“How To Be Happy,” by Eleanor Davis

Outstanding Graphic Novel
“Saint Cole,” by Noah Van Sciver

Outstanding Story
“Doctors,” by Dash Shaw
“Nature Lessons,” by Marguerite Van Cook and James Romberger (from The Late Child and Other Animals)

10

House of Women, Part II is debuting at an SPX near you:

Science fiction meets psycho-sexual drama when a group of women try to bring “civilization” to the natives of a remote planet on the fringes of the known universe.

House of Women, Part I received an Ignatz Award in 2014 for “Outstanding Minicomic”.

Part two of a three-part series. 58 pages, black and white with a double die-cut cover on gold paper.

6

ANNOUNCEMENT: A brand new book and a Kickstarter campaign!!

Back “Rules For Dating My Daughter” HERE

Help publish a brand new book from Mike Dawson, the Ignatz award winning cartoonist behind Freddie & Me, Troop 142, and Angie Bongiolatti as well as the host of the TCJ Talkies comics podcast.

“I loved these so much!“ - Lisa Hanawalt, My Dirty Dumb Eyes, BoJack Horseman

"Interesting, and worth a read” - Zainab Ahktar, Comics & Cola

“(Mike’s) comics are just blowing me away!” Keith Knight, The K Chronicles

“Weird and vaguely sociopathic” Kim O’Connor, The Hooded Utilitarian

Rules For Dating My Daughter: Cartoon Dispatches from the Front-Lines of Modern Fatherhood is my new book of comics about marriage, parenthood, politics, and raising two small children in present day America.

The comics in this collection examine a wide variety of topics, from after-school pickup and Disney’s Sofia the First, to gun control issues and impending environmental collapse. Simultaneously political, philosophical, and humorous, these first-person cartoon essays all seek to answer the book’s central question, Am I Good?

The comics expand outwards from that premise. Am I good because I try to be an engaged father? What does being an engaged father mean? What does it mean to respect my children as separate individuals apart from myself? I like the sound of being a “Feminist Father”, but what does that really entail? Can it even be considered ethical to have brought children into such a terrible world?

Please check out the campaign page and pledge $16 to get a copy of this new book.

My next book is titled GORGEOUS and it’s coming from Koyama Press in May 2016! Here’s info from the KP website:

GORGEOUS
ISBN: 978-1-927668-27-6
$12.00
6.5 x 9, 64 pages, b&w, trade paper
May 2016

Ideologies and cars collide when a minor accident brings a pair of punks and a college student tumultuously together.

Sophie has tried to stay out of trouble, but tonight trouble has found her. On a lonely stretch of highway under a star-studded sky, she meets anarchist punks in a crack-up of metal and emotion that proves sometimes the freedom of youth causes damage along the way.

CATHY G. JOHNSON is an artist in Providence, RI. She grew up in Minnesota and graduated from the Maryland Institute College of Art in 2011. She was awarded the Small Press Expo 2014 Ignatz Award for Promising New Talent. Her inspiration is drawn from community and critical theory.

“Johnson has consistently been making some of the most beautiful and affecting comics, especially when it comes to comics that explore identity, gender and sexuality.” — Mey, Autostraddle