Sorry, this may seem like a stupid question,but I'm still a little confused about the 4 team, 2 specialist rule. Does this mean that the 2 people can only qualify for event finals and the 4 people can only qualify for team and AA? Or am I just way off?
Sorry I went overboard.
Hi! I am so sorry this took so long to answer, I rarely get asks and want to always double check that everything is correct and looks good before I post anything. This means a ton to me that you would ask me something like this.
No question is ever stupid and no worries I get confused by this all the time and I highly recommend reading over (x). This is a great article written by Lauren, @imliterallygarbage , over at thegymter.net and it goes into great detail about how qualifying for the 2020 Olympics will work and the various points behind deciding who wins the AA/specialist spots and how the team/specialists will work for qualifications.
I referenced a majority of this information from that link provided so all credit is due to Lauren for writing a great article and really debunking how the Tokyo Olympics will work so thanks Lauren!
I am just going to start by debunking what the specialists could potentially be and what apparatus they could be competing before applying this information into an example.
- The two specialists not apart of the team can only contend for the individual finals. They are not a part of the team and their scores will not factor into the Team score used to qualify for Team Finals.
- An event specialist would qualify if they are the series winner of a particular apparatus through the World Cups held in 2018-2020. There will only be 4 gymnasts that will qualify this way so this is not the easiest way to qualify.
- The series winner is determined by the place a gymnast finishes in an apparatus final at these World Cups. The top 3 rankings a gymnast achieved are totaled and ranked against all other gymnasts that competed. Point values are assigned for each placing and the overall winner with the most points will earn the specialist spot for that particular apparatus.
- Additionally, this specialist can only compete on the pieces they were the series winner of. They cannot qualify on Floor and compete Beam also, they can only compete Floor in Tokyo.
- These spots belong to the gymnast who won and only that gymnast. They cannot just be given to someone else and they do not belong to the country.
- An all arounder can qualify in a few different ways.
- They will compete the AA in Tokyo and can attempt to qualify every apparatus final except the Team Final.
- These spots can either belong to the gymnast who won or to the country they represent. It is dependent on if their country has qualified a team or not.
- Please see the link for more details, I don’t want to make this post too long since it is not my article.
- The four gymnasts on the team will also be attempting to qualify for individual finals as well as the team final where they will compete just as a group of 4 (provided they qualify in the top 8). So, team gymnasts will be attempting to qualify every single event final we are used to seeing now (provided they have two vaults).
- Additionally, the event finals (AA/each apparatus) are 2 per country regardless if you are team/specialist. It literally does not matter which a gymnast is apart of, it is 2 total.
- Beam could have a specialist and a team member in the final, but Floor could have two team gymnasts.
- Specialists can 2 per country team gymnasts out of Event Finals and vice versa.
Assuming I got this ask because of the Vanessa Ferrari post, I’ll use her as an example:
- If she qualifies as an event specialist on Beam and/or Floor (meaning she won the World Cup series for that specific event), she will only compete Beam and/or Floor in Tokyo.
- She will do qualifications with Team Italy (if they qualify a team), however her scores do not go towards their team score for Team Finals.
- She is only related to the team in the sense that she represents the same country. She is attempting to qualify for the Event Finals for herself.
- She can however, two per country other Italian gymnasts out of those event finals so her scores do matter in terms of how she ranks against everyone else competing that day, including her own country.
- The specialist spot however, would belong to her alone as it is nominative and she would have won the series herself.
- Honestly, it will be quite a difficult way to qualify, but I really do think she has a decent shot at it due to how well she has maintained her difficulty over the years. Her focusing on her stronger events will help her not only on upgrades, but her execution also.
- But I love Vany so probably just setting myself up for heartbreak!
I hope this cleared things up a little for you. I have a slightly more detailed answer saved in my drafts that I would be more than happy to share with you (or anyone interested really), but I didn’t want to post it incase there were errors in it and it is quite long and again, it’s not my article and Lauren does a much better job at explaining it.
Feel free to send me a message if you need more clarification and thanks for having faith in my nonexistent gymnastics knowledge <3