hyperrealism

Vanessa Foley drawing (detail) for “Lápiz, Papel o Tijera” group show.
Opening January 29.
Mail us to info@plasticmurs.com for the preview.
Featuring works from
Adonna Khare @adonnakhare
Alessia Iannetti @alessia_iannetti
Amandine Urruty @amandineurruty
Ana Juan #AnaJuan
Chamo San @chamo_san
Crajes @Crajes
Craww @Craww
Dan May @danmayart
Dulk @dulk1
Enric Sant @enricsant
Gabi de la Merced @gabidelamerced
Ivana Flores @ivanusqui
Linnea Strid @yourfavouritecolor
Mab Graves @mabgraves
Nicofey @nicofey
Nicomi Nix Turner @_fernbeds_
Manu Iranzo @manu_iranzo
Mohamed Lghacham @oiterone
Oliver Flores @o_oliverart
Paolo Pedroni @paolopedroni
Rubenimichi @rubenimichi
Sara Sanz @sarasanzart
Seven Moods @sevenmoods
Sicioldr @alessandrosicioldrart
Simona Candini @simonacandini
Twee Muizen @tweemuizen
Vanessa Foley @vanessafoley
Vero Navarro @veronavarro.ig
Volkano @volkanoart
Victor Castillo @victor_castillo_art

#VanessaFoley #graphite #paper #surreal #art #urbanart #illustration #hyperrealism #newcontemporaryart #popsurrealism #plasticmurs #ruzafa #valencia #spain (en PLASTIC MURS)

Made with Instagram
8

Randy Hage’s “Facade” at Flower Pepper Gallery.

Opening on October 10th, 2015 at Flower Pepper Gallery in Pasadena, California is hyperrealist sculptor Randy Hage’s brand new solo show, “Facade.”

Hage painstakingly creates, from scratch, hyperrealistic sculptures of famous New York City locations that absolutely blow my mind (See Hage’s work previously featured).  For “Facade,” Hage has focused primarily on locations that were the cornerstones of their community in their past but now have either closed their doors or face impending destruction.  

The photos Hage uses to create his sculptures are basically indistinguishable from one to the sculptures while reviewing side by side comparisons creating a hefty dose of magic to the fantastic work that Hage is able to present to us.  By preserving these locations through his meticulous creations, Hage is helping to further memories of them as well as new ones, their rich history and to serve as warnings to what could be lost.

Facade” is on display at Flower Pepper Gallery from October 10th, 2015 until November 18th, 2015.

Here is a detail of my latest painting, “Whale Hymn.” This past summer while being treated for Chronic Lyme Disease in the U.S., through much difficulty I toiled away at this large painting, taking almost 500 hours to complete.

Oil on Braced Baltic Birch, 36" x 48" 2015

When working on a large painting like this one, the long process allows me ample time to conceptually formulate my thoughts on the work. Continuing my Streams in the Wasteland series, this painting fits the theme of wild animals in abandoned spaces. Gothic architecture fascinates me for its intentional diversity, which also reflects the variety and lack of rigidity in the natural world. According to 19th Century art critic John Ruskin, the history of Gothic reveals a gradual discovery of the beauty found in natural forms, which could be transferred into stone edifices. I imagined the concept for this painting over a year earlier, then later found architectural reference from the ruins of a 12th century cathedral in London, England. It had been transformed into a peaceful garden intertwined with ivy, red roses and fallen petals, historically symbolic of the Passion of Christ in European art. This would provide an intriguing exterior for an ocean scene emanating through stained glass. I had become interested in Humpback Whales watching the BBC series “Ocean Giants,” which recorded epic sights and sounds of the largest mammals to ever live on the planet. The behaviour of whales, specifically their vocalization, remains somewhat of a mystery to scientists. Many believe their ‘songs’ may be more than mating calls, for the non-utilitarian act of expressing emotions. In contemplating this I looked back to the gothic cathedral, a space for praise where parishioners sang hymns to their Creator. So also metaphorically the haunting chants from the giants of the deep bring honour to their Maker.

joshtiessen.com | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Made with Instagram
3

Korean sculptor Xooang Choi‘s sculptures of bodies and imaginary creatures are often described as hyper-realistic, but they are also surreal in their elements of fantasy and nightmarish distortion. We’ve featured both his most imaginative and more graphic visions on our blog, sculptures that explore themes of destruction, transformation and re-assemblage. To Choi, the body is a vessel through which we perceive and express ourselves, and one that provides him with an ideal medium to explore the possibilities of the human condition.

See more on Hi-Fructose.

9

Remarkable Large-Scale Paintings Reveal the Power of Photorealism

Artist Hirothropologie has devoted himself to creating photorealistic paintings that are spectacularly detailed. Every freckle is emphasized along with each strand of hair. As for the clothing that he portrays, all embellishments are intricately represented and help to add a sense of texture. “I put my entire life in it,” the painter admits. Follow him on Instagram.


Art not only for connoisseurs. Posted by Margaret

posted by Margaret

7

Hyperrealistic paintings by Laura Sanders

The girls in my paintings are an uneasy mix of potential victim, pernicious consumer and reminiscences of the traditional feminine personification of nature. Joining the genres of figurative and landscape painting, I see the figure as both natural and invasive to the landscape. The human body, defined and distorted by sun, water, firelight and the surrounding environment, coexists with the glare of manmade materials littering the natural world. I paint directly, wet on wet, using the materiality of the paint to sculpt flesh and bones, flora and fauna.

3

Most of us flinch when we see a bad bruise. Finland born, Helsinki based artist Riikka Hyvönen sees an inspiring myriad of colors that tell a story. Her art combines hyperrealism painting with sculptural elements, pop and kitsch styles, taking the pain that we have all experienced at some point and making it strangely alluring. She calls bruises “kisses”, specifically worn by roller derby girls, of which she collects photographs and then reinterprets into large-scale artworks. 

See more on Hi-Fructose.

10

Hyperrealistic Paintings by Kamalky Laureano

Kamalky Laureano born in 1983 in the Dominican Republic is an artist currently based in Mexico City. He is best known for his hyperrealistic paintings, specializes in portraiture. Follow him on Twitter and Instagram.




Want to keep up with art?  Check out our Twitter feed.

posted by Margaret

Portuguese multimedia artist Gustavo Fernandes portrays a parallel universe in his oil paintings. According to this essay on his work, Fernandes had a difficult childhood and once referred to himself as someone who had lost his roots. Roots are a recurring motif in his more surreal paintings, where grape vines grab hold of mysterious objects, such as spheres, and perform a strange balancing act between earth and water.

See more on Hi-Fructose.

9

Automotive in Hyperrealistic Paintings by Marcello Petisci

Marcello Petisci is an artist painter born in Brussels, Belgium in 1963. 

Before starting to paint I examine the variables of the types of objects painted, the form of the main subject and the place it is given within the painting. Each element in the picture has been considered and then chosen for the space it occupies in relation to the other elements already in place.


Meet us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

posted by Margaret