In Today's Basketball History: January 11th

January 11, 1947
The NBA voted to outlaw the use of zone defenses. When the league began play two and a half months earlier, it did so under college rules that permitted zones. But league officials felt that zones were slowing down the game and allowing teams to clog the middle and thus voted that they be prohibited.

January 11, 1967
San Diego was granted an NBA franchise to be called the Rockets. The franchise moved to Houston for the 1971-72 season.

January 11, 1984

Denver defeated San Antonio 163-155 in the second-highest scoring non-overtime game in NBA history. Golden State and Denver combined for 320 points on Nov. 2, 1990.

January 11, 2000
Ray Allen of the Milwaukee Bucks, Grant Hill of the Detroit Pistons and Alonzo Mourning of the Miami Heat were selected as the final three members of the 2000 USA Basketball Men’s Senior National Team, scheduled to participate in the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia. Named previously to the USA Men’s Senior National Team were Vin Baker and Gary Payton of the Seattle SuperSonics; Tim Duncan of the San Antonio Spurs; Kevin Garnett of the Minnesota Timberwolves; Tom Gugliotta of the Phoenix Suns; Tim Hardaway of the Miami Heat; Allan Houston of the New York Knicks; Jason Kidd of the Phoenix Suns; and Steve Smith of the Portland Trail Blazers.

January 11, 2000
David Robinson of the San Antonio Spurs is among seven inductees to the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, in ceremonies taking place in Waco, Texas. Robinson, chosen as one of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA history is an eight-time All-Star and three-time U.S. Olympian who helped lead the Spurs to their first NBA championship in 1999.

January 11, 2001
The New York Knicks held an opponent under 100 points for an NBA-record 29th straight game when the Knicks dropped a 76-75 decision to the Houston Rockets. The streak snapped the 46-year-old NBA record of 28 straight set by the Fort Wayne Pistons in the 1954-55 season.