historical astronomy

Fig. 85. La Terre dans le ciel, telle qu’on la voit de la Lune (The Earth in the sky, as seen from the Moon), 1881.

Pluto <3

After a more-than-9-years journey New Horizons is in its closest approach to Pluto, before New Horizons the best image that we had of Pluto was this.

As New Horizons was closer it was sending us new images, with a lot more detail of this icy dwarf planet.

And the next one is an image from 8 days ago…

Slowly we started to get more and more detail of the surface of Pluto.

The Whale’s tail

Pluto’s heart

And also we got amazing shots of Charon, pluto’s largest moon.

And finally today on July 14, 2015 we are flying a probe by Pluto for the first time, is an historic day. And this is the best picture of Pluto that we have ever had with a beautiful love message from pluto to the human kind.

The Dunhuang Star map is one of the first known graphical representations of stars from ancient Chinese astronomy, dated to the Tang Dynasty (618–907). Before this map, much of the star information mentioned in historical Chinese texts had been questioned. The map provides a graphical verification of the star observations, and are part of a series of pictures on one of the Dunhuang manuscripts. The astronomy behind the map is explained in an educational resource posted on the website of the International Dunhuang Project, where much of the research on the map has been done. The Dunhuang Star map is to date the world’s oldest complete preserved star atlas.

Binary or Double Stars, “Smith’s Illustrated Astronomy”, 1855.

Joannes Regiomontanus - Astrological man with signs of the zodiac, 1529.

The zodiac rules certain parts of the human body. When we have transits from the planets to these zodiac signs we can sometimes have afflictions to that part of the body. As far as the horoscope is concerned, where we have planets located at birth can relate to life time issues.

Comparison of the apparent sizes of the different Planets as seen through the telescope, 1959.
Top left to bottow right : Venus, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune (Pluto is not shown).

Zodiac Wheel.

The Zodiac is an imaginary belt of the Heavens, within which are the apparent paths of the Sun, Moon and Planets. The belt contains twelve Constellations of Stars (hence the twelve Signs of the Zodiac) and each of the twelve Signs are governed by one of these four Elements: Earth, Fire, Air or Water. Astrology plays a big part in the Zodiac, as it is the actual study of influence that the Sun, Moon, Stars and Planets have on an individual at the time of their Birth (which creates all the Sun/Moon/Rising Signs of the Zodiac).

An Eclipse - “A treatise on Astronomy with a map of the Solar System, giving  a correct description of the Heavenly Bodies and embracing the first and most important principles of Astronomy”, 1833.