hindemith

The Best Solos
  • Piccolo: Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4, Mvmt. 3
  • Flute: Saint-Saens: The Carnival of the Animals, Aviary
  • Oboe: Stravinsky: Pulcinella Suite, Serenata
  • English Horn: Shostakovich: Symphony No. 8, Mvmt. 1
  • E-Flat Clarinet: Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7, Mvmt. 2
  • B-Flat Clarinet: Offenbach: Overture to Orpheus in the Underworld
  • Bass Clarinet: Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring
  • Bassoon: Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherezade, Mvmt. 2
  • Contrabassoon: Dukas: The Sorcerer's Apprentice
  • French Horn: R. Strauss: Till Eulenspiegels Lustige Streiche
  • Trumpet: Mahler: Symphony No. 5, Mvmt. 1
  • Trombone: R. Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra
  • Tuba: Gershwin: An American in Paris
  • Percussion: Hindemith: Symphonic Metamorphosis, Mvmt. 2
  • Violin: Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5, Mvmt. 2
  • Viola: Brahms: Symphony No. 4, Mvmt. 2
  • Cello: Beethoven: Symphony No. 5, Mvmt. 2
  • Double Bass: Saint-Saens: The Carnival of the Animals, L'Elephant
10

Triadisches Ballett (Triadic Ballet) is a ballet developed by Oskar Schlemmer. It premiered in Stuttgart, on 30 September 1922, with music composed by Paul Hindemith and with the performers Elsa Hotzel and Albert Burger. The ballet became the most widely performed avant-garde artistic dance and while Schlemmer was at the Bauhaus from 1921 to 1929, the ballet toured, helping to spread the ethos of the Bauhaus”- Wikipedia Link

Filmed version of this ballet (30 minutes) is available for viewing here.

New Fic: Loyalty

Fandom: swtor

Pairing: Malavai Quinn/Sith Warrior

Rating: Teen

Summary: Quinn didn’t believe anything could be more difficult than five years in prison. But freedom turned out to be all that much more harder than he ever imagined.

Notes: Because who doesn’t want 15,000 words of Quinn angst? Spoilers for update 5.2. 

#

In the end, Quinn simply doesn’t have enough friends, enough connections, to protect him. He’s given advance warning of the approach, but no offer of hiding or shelter. Once his departure request off of Vaiken Station is denied, he knows there is not much time.

He’s still a proud man, still concerned about appearances. The thought of being taken into custody in a public commotion sickens him. While his skills with a blaster are quite good, no doubt armed soldiers will be part of the escort team. There will be no chance of escape, so he will put up no resistance.

The bridge of the Fury will be his last stand. He wonders what will happen to the ship once he’s gone. For all intensive purposes, this ship is his home. It’s where Quinn found a second chance at serving the empire. Where he fell in love with Maevry. Their blood and sweat is written in the walls of this ship and he finds he will miss it more than he expects.

A console alerts him that an override code has been inputted to enter the ship. He waits on the bridge, standing at parade rest. Will they kill him at once? Or perhaps have a farce of a trial before throwing him in prison? Quinn’s not sure which he prefers and then isn’t sure what to do with that knowledge. If today is to be the day of his death, at least he dies showing the galaxy his true loyalty. He did not give up his search for his wife, defying and disobeying every order to the contrary.

The airlock opens and Quinn takes a breath, trying to hear just how many soldiers have come aboard. It sounds like three in heavy armor and one officer. He asks the galaxy to give him one kindness, to spare him the humiliation of being arrested by Lieutenant - no, Captain, now - Pierce. The bloody galaxy at least owes him that much. It’s taken his wife, his parents, his career. Quinn has nothing left to give this galaxy except his life. And knowing the galaxy, that won’t be enough.

Read the rest on Ao3!

There's a (string) concerto for that
  • Just want to lay in bed and think but I have disrupting thoughts: Mendelssohn violin concerto mvt 1
  • Such a nice day out. I would like to sing along with birds. And frogs. And that squirrel: Mendelssohn violin concerto mvt 3
  • I’m the best muthafuqa you’ll see: Tchaikovsky violin concerto 1 mvt 3
  • Angst inside me: Bruch violin concerto 1 mvt 1
  • Sadness and angst: Sibelius violin concerto 1 mvts 1 & 2
  • Time to get over that sadness and angst: Sibelius violin concerto 1 mvt 3
  • Just scored a date: Bruch violin concerto 1 mvt 3
  • No one understands me, this is because my intellect > theirs: Hindemith viola concerto mvt 1
  • Ain't got time to afford privates FTS and education: Brahms violin concerto mvt 1
  • Just got an A on a test that I thought I had failed: Brahms violin mvt 3
  • Cleaning the house: Haydn cello concerto 1
Listen

Composer: Paul Hindemith (1895 - 1963) after Richard Wagner (1813 - 1883)

Work: Ouvertüre zum “Fliegenden Holländer”, wie sie eine schlechte Kurkapelle morgens um 7 am Brunnen vom Blatt spielt [Overture to the “Flying Dutchman” as Sight-read by a Bad Spa Orchestra at 7 in the Morning by the Well] (1925)

Performer: Kocian Quartet

Fic Update: Pragmatic Dreams (12/??)

Fandom: swtor

Chapter Title: Drinking Games (Read on Ao3!)

Pairing: Lana/Beniko/female Jedi Knight

Rating: Teen

Summary: When Darth Marr’s flagship is destroyed, the galaxy mourns the loss of a leader of the Jedi Order. And Lana Beniko mourns the loss of her lover. But when secrets are uncovered, Lana realizes that the only way to save the galaxy might just be to tear it apart, all for the woman she loves.

#

“Time is not our ally. We should hurry along.”

Lana turned away, hoping Maebry couldn’t see the blush upon her cheeks. One kiss, one innocent kiss, and the world seemed to tremble under Lana’s feet. Never had she fallen for another like this. Already, she missed having Maebry’s hand on her waist and her lips pressed against hers. But there was no time.

“You don’t think I’m letting you go that quickly, do you?” Maebry asked as she grabbed Lana’s hand. They both wore gloves, so Lana could hardly feel Maebry’s touch, but to simply hold her hand was enough. No, it wasn’t enough, it would never be enough. But it was all that they had.

“We really should leave,” Lana said, even as she stopped. She didn’t feel in control of herself, not one bit. How in the galaxy had she found herself compromised like this? How could she provide advice with any sort of clarity when Maebry was involved? But how could she not? “Revan waits for no one.”

Maebry stepped in close, her hands on Lana’s hips. They were standing close enough that Lana could see a small smattering of freckles across Maebry’s nose. “Lana, we’re in a room by ourselves. This might never happen again.”

Lana glanced behind Maebry and saw that the door was even closed. Theron’s way of helping, no doubt. Right now, when passion and duty warred inside her, Lana wasn’t sure if she appreciated the gesture or not. Resting her brow against Maebry’s, Lana said, “I know we should go…”

Her eyes closed as Maebry gently pressed her lips against hers. “Soon,” the Jedi said, pulling back and meeting Lana’s eye. “Just not yet.”

Keep reading

youtube

Day 229
Hindemith Sonata Mvt 3

Directory of Composers (12th Update 5/25/16)

Follow them all for maximum fun! (Trust me, I follow them all.)

(If composers are a transitional type, they are listed near the end of the first era. If you have a grievance with the info on this list, feel free to bring it up with the author.)

Medieval:

Kassia 805-865 Byzantine @kassia-official

Hildegard von Bingen 1098-1179 German @hildegardvonbingen-official

Guillaume de Machaut 1300-1377 French @guillaumedemachaut-official

Renaissance:

Josquin des Prez 1450/55-1521 Franco-Flemish @josquin-official

Roland de Lassus 1532-1594 Franco-Flemish @delassus-official

John Dowland 1563-1626 English @johndowland-official

Claudio Monteverdi 1567-1643 Italian @claudiomonteverdi-official

Baroque:

Lucrezia Orsina Vizzana 1590-1662 Italian @lucreziaorsinavizzana-official

Barbara Strozzi 1619-1677 Italian @barbarastrozzi-official

Dieterich Buxtehude 1637-1707 Danish-German @buxtehude-official

Johann Pachelbel 1653-1706 German @tacobell-pachelbel-official

Arcangelo Corelli 1653-1713 Italian @arcangelocorelli-official

Henry Purcell 1659-1695 English @henrypurcell-official

Antonio Vivaldi 1678-1741 Italian @antoniovivaldi-official

Georg Philipp Telemann 1681-1767 German @georgphilipptelemann-official

Johann Sebastian Bach 1685-1750 German @jsbach-official @papabach

George Frideric Handel 1685-1759 German/British @georg-fred-handel-official

Classical:

Joseph Haydn 1732-1809 Austrian @josephhaydn-official

Antonio Salieri 1750-1825 Italian @official-antoniosalieri @antoniosalieri-official

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 1756-1791 Austrian @wolfgangamadeusmozart-official @mozart-official

Domenico Dragonetti 1763-1846 Italian @domenicodragonetti-official

Ludwig van Beethoven 1770-1827 German @vanbeethoven-official

Johann Nepomuk Hummel 1778-1837 Austrian @johannhummel-official

Franz Schubert 1797-1828 Austrian @franzschubert-official

Romantic:

Niccolò Paganini 1782-1840 Italian @niccolopaganini-official

Carl Maria von Weber 1786-1826 German @cmvonweber-official

Franz Wilhelm Ferling 1796-1874 German @franzwilhelmferling-official

Hector Berlioz 1803-1869 French @official-hectorberlioz

Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel 1805-1847 German @fannyhensel-official

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy 1809-1847 German @felixmendelssohn-official

Frederic Chopin 1810-1849 Polish @fredericchopin-official @fryderykchopin-official

Robert Schumann 1810-1856 German @robertschumann-official

Franz Liszt 1811-1886 Hungarian @franzliszt-official

Richard Wagner 1813-1883 German @richardwagner-official @wagner-official

Adolphe Sax 1814-1894 Belgian @official-adolphe-sax

Clara Schumann 1819-1896 German @claraschumann-official @official-claraschumann

Anton Bruckner 1824-1896 Austrian @official-anton-bruckner

Johann Strauss II 1825-1899 Austrian @straussii-official

Alexander Borodin 1833-1887 Georgian @alexanderborodin-official

Johannes Brahms 1833-1897 German @johannesbrahms-official

Camille Saint-Saëns 1835-1921 French @saint-saens-official

Modest Mussorgsky 1839-1881 Russian @modestmussorgsky-official @mussorsky-official

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky 1840-1893 Russian @tchaikovsky-official @pyotrtchaikovsky-official

Antonín Dvořák 1841-1904 Czech @antonindvorak-official

Edvard Grieg 1843-1907 Norwegian @edvardgrieg-official

David Popper 1843-1913 Bohemian @official-popper

Paul Taffanel 1844- 1908 French @paultaffanel-official

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov 1844-1908 Russian @rimsky-korsakov-official

John Philip Sousa 1854-1932 American @johnphilipsousa-official

Edward Elgar 1857-1934 English @official-edwardelgar

Cécile Chaminade 1857-1944 French @cecilechaminade-official

Giacomo Puccini 1858-1924 Italian @puccini-official

Gustav Mahler 1860-1911 Austrian @mahler-official

Richard Strauss 1864-1949 German @official-richardstrauss

Jean Sibelius 1865-1957 Finnish @sibelius-official

Vladimi Rebikov 1866-1920 Russian @vladimirrebikov-official

Sergei Rachmaninoff 1873-1943 Russian @sergeirachmaninoff-official

Ottorino Respighi 1879-1936 Italian @ottorinorespighi-official

20th-Century:

Claude Debussy 1862-1918 French @claudedebussy-official

Erik Satie 1866-1925 French @eriksatie-official

Louis Vierne 1870-1937 French @louisvierne-official

Ralph Vaughan Williams 1872-1958 English @ralphvaughanwilliams-official

Alexander Scriabin 1872-1915 Russian @alexanderscriabin-official @scriabin-official

Arnold Schoenberg 1874-1951 Austrian @schoenberg-official

Charles Ives 1874-1954 American @charlesives-official

Gustav Holst 1874-1934 English @gustavholst-official

Maurice Ravel 1875-1937 French @maurice-ravel-official

Béla Bartók 1881-1945 Hungarian @belabartok-official

Percy Aldridge Grainger 1882-1961 Australian @percyaldridgegrainger-official

Igor Stravinsky 1882-1971 Russian @igorstravinsky-official

Alban Berg 1885-1935 Austrian @albanberg-official

Rebecca Clarke 1886-1979 English @rebeccaclarke-official

Sergei Prokofiev 1891-1953 Russian @sergeiprokofiev-official

Leo Ornstein 1893-2002 American @leoornstein-official

Paul Hindemith 1895-1963 German @paul-hindemith-official

George Gershwin 1898-1937 American @georgegerschwin-official @gershwin-official @georgegershwin-official

Aaron Copland 1900-1990 American @aaroncopland-official

William Walton 1902-1983 English @williamwalton-official

Aram Khachaturian 1903-1978 Soviet Armenian @aramkhachaturian-official

Dmitri Shostakovich 1906-1975 Soviet @dmitrishostakovich-official

Olivier Messiaen 1908-1992 French @oliviermessiaen-official

John Cage 1912-1992 American @johncage-official

Benjamin Britten 1913-1976 English @benji-britten-official

Leonard Bernstein 1918-1990 American @bernstein-official

John Williams 1932-present American @johnwilliams-official

Steve Reich 1936-present American @stevereich-official

Philip Glass 1937-present American @philipglass-official

(And just for fun, a couple scientists who like to hang out with Mendelssohn: @dmitrimendeleev-official and @gregormendel-official, as well as Chopin’s friend @official-george-sand)

Please reblog from the source for the latest update!

Fic Update: Pragmatic Dreams (13/??)

Fandom: swtor

Chapter Title: Negotiations (Read on Ao3!)

Pairing: Lana/Beniko/female Jedi Knight

Rating: Teen

Summary: When Darth Marr’s flagship is destroyed, the galaxy mourns the loss of a leader of the Jedi Order. And Lana Beniko mourns the loss of her lover. But when secrets are uncovered, Lana realizes that the only way to save the galaxy might just be to tear it apart, all for the woman she loves.

#

“You know this is crazy, right?”

Lana didn’t bother to look up at Theron from her holopad. “I’m well aware this is one of my more eccentric ideas, yes.”

Three months had passed since she had met with Captain Mai. Three months and neither side was willing to give an inch, refusing to be the first to surrender. However, during that time, whispers had begun to circulate in the Imperial Empire, that perhaps strategic capitulation wouldn’t be the worst thing that could happen. Even the former Emperor himself had made peace with the Republic all those years ago. Those whispers had been hard earned victories on her part.

It was strange to think how many people in the Empire still revered the Emperor. Regular every day citizens had no idea of the atrocities the man had planned on committing, no clue that if he had his chance, he would have ended all life in the galaxy. To them, he was their Emperor, and even though almost half a decade had passed since Maebry had struck down his Voice, some people still mourned. Perhaps that would not be the case if the remaining two members of the Dark Council put on more of a show. But Vowrawn and Acina seemed content to rule quietly.

Theron scoffed, throwing down a reusable bag onto the conference table. For the last week, both she and Theron had been docked at Port Nowhere. Their docking prices were obscene; Lana would have to figure out something for credit, sooner rather than later. But being so close to their goals, the expense seemed worth it. “Here, I got us lunch. Maybe actually stand up and step away from the table for a minute?”

Keep reading