Armour of King Henry VIII of England from the 16th Century on display at the Royal Armouries in the Tower of London

This complete field armour may be the earliest product of the royal armour workshop which King Henry VIII established at the Palace of Greenwich in 1511. The armour is richly decorated with engraving, silvering and originally gilding, with scenes from the lives of St George and St Barbara, the patreon saints of Henry and the his wife (at the time) Katherine of Aragon.

The skirt or base of the man’s armor bears their entwined initials, H and K.