On this day in 1935, the first Heisman Trophy was awarded to Jay Berwanger of the University of Chicago.  Chicago was one of the original members of the Western Conference (later Big 10) and was a football powerhouse under Coach Amos Alonzo Stagg,  It dropped varsity football in 1939 (the sport returned to the University 30 years later).   Here are two covers of Wisconsin-Chicago games, from November 10, 1928 and October 11, 1930.


For more information about UW campus history, contact uwarchiv@library.wisc.edu or visit archives.library.wisc.edu. On, Wisconsin!

#HappyBirthday @timtebow ;) since I first saw you at your #Heisman trophy ceremony in 2007, you’ve been #inspiring me in my #walk with #Christ & how to live a life as a true #servant. It’s been so awesome to see #God work His greatness through you in your #football career, in your family & with @timtebowfoundation ;) can’t wait to see what He has for you next! Have an amazing first day on the @secnetwork ;) happy 27th #birthday! #manofGod #joy #love #happiness #hubbymaterial

Made with Instagram

Mahalo Marcus

Congratulations on winning the 2014 Heisman Trophy, and becoming the first Heisman trophy winner from the University of Oregon.

[Final Passage of his acceptance speech below.]

Two aspects of my life that I will never change. To the Polynesian community, I hope and pray that this is only the beginning. Young Poly athletes everywhere, you should take this as motivation, and dream big and strive for greatness.

Finally, Mom, Dad, Matt and the rest of my family, thank you. Thank you for sacrificing and providing me and Matt every opportunity we could have. Words can’t express how much you guys mean to me. I’m truly grateful to have you guys in my life.

Fa'afetai tele lava. God bless, and go Ducks.