harper collins publishers

Book Review: The Victoria Letters by Helen Rappaport

Title: The Victoria Letters: The Heart and Mind of a Young Queen
Author: Helen Rappaport, Daisy Goodwin (foreword)
Publisher: Harper Collins
Pages: 302
ISBN: 9780008196837

Rating:

Synopsis (as found on Goodreads):

The official companion to ITV’s hotly anticipated new drama, The Victoria Letters delves into the private writings of the young Queen Victoria, painting a vivid picture of the personal life of one of England’s greatest monarchs.

From the producers of Poldark and Endeavour, ITV’s Victoria follows the early years of the young Queen’s reign, based closely on Victoria’s own letters and journals. Now explore this extensive collection in greater depth, and discover who Victoria really was behind her upright public persona.

At only 18 years old, Victoria ascended the throne as a rebellious teenager and gradually grew to become one of the most memorable, unshakeable and powerful women in history. The extensive writings she left behind document this personal journey and show how she triumphed over scandal and corruption. Written by Internationally bestselling author, historian of 12 books and Victoria historical consultant, Helen Rappaport, and including a foreword by Daisy Goodwin – acclaimed novelist and screenwriter of the series – The Victoria Letters details the history behind the show. Revealing Victoria’s own thoughts about the love interests, family dramas and court scandals during her early reign, it also delves into the running of the royal household, the upstairs-downstairs relationships, and what it was like to live in Victorian England.

Full of beautiful photography from the series and genuine imagery from the era, come behind the palace doors and discover the girl behind the Queen.

Review:

I have always been fascinated by Queen Victoria and absolutely loved the tv series with Jenna Coleman as well as the movie starring Emily Blunt. This book delivers an interesting insight into Victoria’s personal life and the life at court in England. On top of that it also features stunning pictures from the show. It is a truly magnificent book and I am so glad I can add it to my collection. Also, this book may or may not have fueled my crush on Tom Hughes aka Prince Albert but shh. 

…before Africans were stamped by it-literally and symbolically-the color black was distasteful. In England, before 1600, it meant, according to the Oxford English Dictionary: ‘Deeply stained with dirt; soiled, dirty, foul. Having dark or deadly purposes, malignant; pertaining to or involving death, deadly; baneful, disastrous, sinister. Foul, iniquitous, atrocious, horribly wicked. Indicating disgrace, censure, liability to punishment, etc.’ And Elizabethan poetry often used the color white in connection with beauty.

It may be that, in the absence of any other overriding factor, darkness and blackness, associated with night and unknown, would take on those meanings. But the presence of another human being is a powerful fact, and the conditions of that presence are crucial in determining whether an initial prejudice, against a mere color, divorced from humankind, is turned into brutality and hatred.

—  Zinn,
Howard. A People’s History of America. New York, New York,
USA. Harper Collins Publishers, 1995.
Veronica Roth starts writing new series

(Photo via DivergentFans)

Divergent trilogy author Veronica Roth, is writing a new series comprising of two books. Roth says “I’m really enjoying working on this new series. I can’t wait to share it with readers!”

The publisher Harper Collins describes the duology as :

“…in the vein of Star Wars, Veronica Roth explores—with poise and poignancy—the story of a boy who forms an unlikely alliance with an enemy. Both desperate to escape their oppressive lives, they help each other attain what they most desire: for one, redemption, and the other, revenge.”

In an Associated Press e-mail, Roth explains where the idea of the new series came from:

“The idea started with a character. All the other elements — setting, world, even a substantial portion of the plot — came after.”

Roth, now 26, released her Divergent series while she was a college student. Being a full-time writer she is now doing these new line of books. Still untitled, the books are expected to be released in 2017 and 2018.

Here is the cover for Luca Dotti’s new book ‘Audrey At Home’. I can’t wait to get this!

From publisher Harper Collins:

“Enter Audrey Hepburn’s private world in this unique biography compiled by her son that combines recollections, anecdotes, excerpts from her personal correspondence, drawings, and recipes for her favorite dishes written in her own hand, and more than 250 previously unpublished personal family photographs.

Audrey at Home offers fans an unprecedented look at the legendary star, bringing together the varied aspects of her life through the food she loved—from her childhood in Holland during World War II, to her time in Hollywood as an actress and in Rome as a wife and mother, to her final years as a philanthropist traveling the world for UNICEF.”

More information in the link.