hanselmann

Debuting at TCAF 2017 - One More Year by Simon Hanselmann

Published by Fantagraphics Books

Simon Hanselmann’s previous two Megg & Mogg books — 2014’s Megahex and 2016’s Megg and Mogg in Amsterdam — have both been New York Times best-sellers, and One More Year continues to cement Hanselmann as one of his generation’s defining graphic novelists. Megg the witch, Mogg the cat, and their friends Owl and Werewolf Jones are imbued with far more pathos and depth than seems plausible given the stock comic premise — drugged-out, slacker roommates. Depressing, hilarious, and exceedingly human — despite being about a witch, a cat, and an anthropomorphic owl — One More Year continues to give more substance to the characters and personalities of its protagonists in ways that never fail to surprise, delight, and horrify.

New Collection and a look back on the year

Every year has its bumps, but this year has been bumpier than most. Our expansion has been rocky and we have struggled. For anyone who has been following us this year, I am sure this is not news.

When we first plotted out 2016, we planned for a slightly different trajectory. A little more successful, maybe a little less stressful [ lol - ofc ofc ]. Originally, this year was to contain approximately 4 collections; 12 books (titles with spines); maybe 8 zines; and an odd number of events.

I wouldn’t say we had major misses on meeting those targets. Some titles were simply delayed and some events were maybe more disorganized than even I could imagine, which is quite a feat.

It’s certainly been fun, if not emotionally and financially exhausting. But wow, what we accomplished this year — for all this year’s hardships and struggles — it’s pretty amazing:

  • Hooked up with major distribution partner, Consortium. 
  • Organized approximately 9 Altcomics events across 5 cities; released 3 issues of our magazine; attended 11 Festivals; published 2 mini’s, 10 books with spines.
  • We did our first book with Buenos Aires based artist, Powerpaola, flying her out to Toronto to attend TCAF, where we debuted her book Virus Tropical alongside 8 other books!!
  • MariNaomi, went on something like a 20 stop tour (!!!CRAZY!!!) with her new book Turning Japanese — she is constantly touring, just an incredible working artist.
  • Gulag Casual artist, Austin English had an extensive residency via The Sharpe-Walentas Studio Program at DUMBO and curated Blackboard a gallery show at LAND.
  • Maggie Umber was included in a group show at zeitraumexit called “…and other stories”. It included work by Alyssa Berg, Julia Gfrörer, Aidan Koch, Laila Milevski. In addition, Maggie & Raighne lead 2 workshops in Mannheim Germany.
  • Richard McGuire, Maggie Umber, Raighne and moderator Jakob Hoffmann discuss ‘Comics as Job’ at Museum Angewandte Kunst in Frankfurt for a panel in support of Richards TimeSpace: After Here exhibition. This was amazingly Maggie’s first panel!
  • Andrew Burkholder had a solo gallery show for his new book ITDN at Hidden Dog Gallery.
  • Gina Wynbrandt was in a group gallery show called Maybe She’s Born With It in Belfast Ireland with Sarah Maple and Nicky Minus at The Naughton Gallery.
  • Gina’s book Someone Please Have Sex With Me SOLD OUT of its first print run! Which is incredible! We did a second printing and just last month the book is back in shops.
  • We had 2 successful Kickstarters with our Winter & Spring Collections.

Additionally, we have received some of the best press and praise. All which has been extremely validating. So, while it’s certainly been a tough year with a lot of hardships, financial troubles and tears – there was also a lot of success, happiness, and laughter. And we could not have done all of this without you, without YOUR support and belief. Thank you so much! You have all made this worth it. Sending you all our love and gratitude! :’) xoxo

Now, as usual, we are running late. We are closing out the year with our latest collection, our Fall 2016 books. They’re gorgeous, genuine and real — produced by some of the most exciting young artists from creative pockets all over the world. Sab Meynert in Toronto; Tommi Parrish formerly in Melbourne, now in Montreal; Jake Terrell in Brooklyn; Carta Monir in Michigan; Simon Hanselmann originally from Tasmania, now in Seattle; and a new full color issue of Altcomics Magazine featuring interviews with Maggie Umber, Juliacks, Christopher L. G. Hill, Tracy Auch, Wiley Guillot and part 1 of a larger look at the rise of feminism in Korea as a counter to the growing “Alt-Right” movement by Kim Jooha.

books
— Sprawling Heart by Sab Meynert
— Perfect Hair by Tommi Parrish
— Extended Play by Jake Terrell

zines
— Secure Connect by Carta Monir
— DRONE by Simon Hanselmann*
— Altcomics Magazine 4
*DRONE is only available at the 50$ level, and limited to 200 copies.

For an introduction to Sab Meynert, Tommi Parrish, and Carta Monir, they are together on a sleepover episode of the podcast We Should Be Friends. It is an absolutely lovely episode, I stopped everything I was doing just to listen.

We are 43% towards our goal and have 24 days left yet to get there. If you have enjoyed our previous collections, I think you will love this one as well. And if you value the type of comics we’ve been publishing, please consider supporting us once again and letting people know about what we are doing on social media.

Your belief and support is what keeps us running.
Thank you so much <3<3 !!
raighne & everyone at 2dcloud

MIRROR MIRROR II

a comics and art anthology

edited by Sean T. Collins & Julia Gfrörer

featuring new and unpublished work by Lala Albert, Clive Barker, Heather Benjamin, Apolo Cacho, Sean Christensen, Nicole Claveloux, Al Columbia, Dame Darcy, Noel Freibert, Renee French, Meaghan Garvey, Julia Gfrörer (with Claude Paradin), Simon Hanselmann (with Sean T. Collins), Hellen Jo, Aidan Koch, Laura Lannes, Céline Loup, Uno Moralez, Mou, Jonny Negron, Chloe Piene, Josh Simmons, Carol Swain, Trungles

coming soon from 2dcloud

My publisher is so close to meeting its kickstarter goals for its current collection. It’s no charity case – you just use it the way you would a webstore, basically. The best way to ensure our book happens is to pay a visit and order yourself some good comics!

7

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

Megg and Mogg in Amsterdam by Simon Hanselmann (nominated for outstanding story and outstanding series) @girlmountain @fantagraphics

Simon Hanselmann’s Megg and Mogg is a low-key stoner comedy, frequently hilarious, often tragic and always poignantly insightful about the inertia and malaise of its self-destructive principals.  When Megg and Mogg travel to Amsterdam (followed by the uptight and unwelcome Owl), their relationship starts to deteriorate in this New York Times bestselling collection of brilliant stories (originally serialized on Vice).

For fans of Boy’s Club, Ernie Pook’s Comeek, Blobby Boys, Octopus Pie, Girls, Broad City, Trailer Park Boys

Check out our interview with Simon Hanselmann

Check out Ignatz nominees on comiXology

Check out graphic novels on comiXology

kickstarter.com
Spring 2017
Gothic, nature, love letters — gorgeous works on paper

Hey gang! I wrote the foreword for this book, which I love with all my heart and which I think is genuinely important for how hard it pushes readers to examine deeply-held ideas of discomfort, ugliness, and terror, and the publisher’s kickstarter is at 55% with 10 days to go! We need your help to clear the finish line, and to that end if you send me proof of donation (like a screenshot, etc) at gretchen.felker.martin@gmail.com or here on Tumblr, I’ll draw anything you want and do an absolutely shit job of it. You’ll be able to mock and embarrass me for years!

This John Valone thing  gave me a terrible, terrible idea. Les Mis… but with German names. (Or should that be “Die Miserablen” then? Because that’s… definitely an accurate word for that.) Starring, among others:

  • Hans Hanselmann (aka Herr Merkens, aka Ulrich Faßbinder, aka…)
  • Wachtmeister Janke
  • Ewaldine “Cornelia” Faßbinder
  • Franziska
  • Marius Poppensieker
  • (Hans/Anton/Hans-Anton/[insert preferred headcanon]) Ennuschat (I have to admit I hadn’t heard that name before, but apparently it means “son of little Hans” and how could I resist?)
  • (probably also Hans) Graber
  • …I’m stumped on most of the Amis, but Joly might be Lustig?
  • and then, to punt this right into anachronism/modern AU territory, Eovyn and Amidala Teuerkauf
  • and their brother… I almost want to make him Kevin, going off Gavin, but that’d be kind of cruel

Next week! Katie Skelly talks with Simon Hanselmann about his latest New York Times Bestselling book, Megg & Mogg in Amsterdam. 

Thursday, May 12th @ 7 PM

The Strand Bookstore
828 Broadway
New York, NY