gustav preiswerk

Metallic cast of the combined pneumatic cavities of the face

a. inferior nasal fossa
b. median nasal fossa
c. superior nasal fossa
d. sphenoidal sinus
e. internal carotid artery
f. sheath of the optic nerve
g.  antrum of Highmore (maxillary sinus)
h. infundibulum (ethmoidal infundibulum)
i. nasolacrymal canal
k. ethmoidal cells
l. frontal sinus

Much of the frontal skull consists of pneumatic (air-filled) cavities. Many of these are known as sinuses.

While the function of our sinuses is not fully understood, they’re known to effect the filtration of inhaled air, and decrease the weight of our skull.

Atlas and Text-Book of Dentistry including Diseases of the Mouth. Gustav Preiswerk, 1909.

Upper: Lateral view of the permanent teeth
Lower: Lateral view of the deciduous teeth [also known as milk teeth or baby teeth]

The permanent teeth consist of 32 teeth of four different types. There are 16 teeth on each jaw, and each jaw has 4 incisors, 2 canines, 4 premolars, and 6 molars (this includes the wisdom teeth, which are shown here)

The smaller mouth of the child only accommodates 20 teeth of three different types. There are 10 teeth on each jaw, and each jaw has 4 incisors, 2 canines, and 4 primary molars. 

Atlas and Text-Book of Dentistry. Gustav Preiswerk, translated by George W. Warren, 1906