The history of this college goes back to the middle of the nineteenth century. As an answer to the severe lack of decent and affordable education in the city, this catholic entrepreneur and landowner started a school in 1862 inside existing buildings that were formerly used as industrial spaces. In 1868 he donated the property to the nearby diocese. During the next year, the school was expanded with a teachers residence. Between 1881 and 1883 all of the existing building, including the teachers residence, were demolished and form 1883 onward a new school was built in neogothic style. The building of this new school was largely funded by the former owner of the property. Originally the institution was a secondary school that also provided in agricultural education. By the beginning of the 1960’s the secondary school moved into new buildings and this school only remained in use for the primary school. After a merge with other schools at the beginning of the millennium all of the buildings were vacated. In 2016 the chapel was destroyed by a raging fire.