Station Jim was the Canine Collector for the Great Western Railway’s Slough station. Between the mid-nineteenth and mid-twentieth centuries, charity dogs were a common sight at British railway stations.
Station Jim raised a total of £40 for the GWR Orphans’ Fund, and was so popular with Slough’s commuters that after his death he was stuffed and put on display on Platform 5, where he remains to this day, still wearing his charity harness.
Toronto’s Union Station was first constructed on a site just west of York Street in 1858 and shared by the Grand Trunk Railway, the Northern Railway of Canada, and the Great Western Railway. The station quickly became outdated and inadequate a new second Union Station was built on the same site, opening in 1873.
This second station originally faced towards Lake Ontario but as railway traffic increased and boat traffic on the lake decreased, the city constructed a new Front Street entrance and southern train shed in 1896. The station served the city until the current and third Union Station opened in 1927. Demolition began shortly after closing and by 1931, all traces of the old station were gone. The site is now home to the Skywalk and the current site of the new Union Pearson Express Train Station.