gotcubes

gotcubes  asked:

How does Painter's Servant interact with Mycosynth Lattice? I'm inclined to believe that colors would comply to the card that entered the battlefield most recently. If that's the case, what would happen if both were to enter the battlefield simultaneously?

It’s a matter of timestamp, i.e. which of the two is most recent, as you guessed. The newer of the two permanents wins.

As for multiple permanents entering the battlefield simultaneously, when that’s the case, the active player chooses the relative timestamp order for all permanents entering the battlefield together.

gotcubes  asked:

If I control Heartless Summoning, and I play Fleshbag Marauder, will I be able to sacrifice Fleshbag Marauder to its own ETB trigger when it resolves?

Sadly no.

State-based actions are checked before Fleshbag Marauder’s trigger goes on the stack, and it has 0 toughness at that time and thus dies a horrible death long before its trigger even thinks about resolving.

gotcubes  asked:

What do you think about how the grammatical structure of Magic cards has changed over the years? I love how some cards printed before Magic had a set language structure are phrased. Especially Rock Hydra and Vesuvan Doppelganger.

I like that Magic has a logical system of language use.

While the early cards definitely have a lot of charm and flavor in their awkward phrasings, I imagine it led to a lot of confusion at the time.

gotcubes  asked:

From what I understand, emblems are continuous effects that apply throughout the game, even after the emblem's controller dies. And if the emblem involves a trigger, such as on Sorin, Solemn Visitor, the player who ultimated Sorin is responsible for remembering the trigger. So if that player dies in a multiplayer game, and the emblem still exists, can the other players simply choose to ignore the trigger since they aren't its controller?

When a player leaves the game, emblems they own leave the game as well. You own an emblem if you “got” that emblem when the effect that created it resolves. Three planeswalkers can create emblems for opponents, and those opponents own those emblems and they will persist even after the player who created them leaves the game. Players are responsible for the triggers of emblems they own.

gotcubes  asked:

What about Tribal spells makes them a completely new card type? Am I correct in my assumption that "Tribal" and "Legendary" are both supertypes? If so, why would the Tribal spells constitute a new spell type, in the eyes of Tarmogoyf for example, but Legendary spells do not?

Tribal is a card type because of the function it was designed to serve, which is the ability to grant creature subtypes to non-creature cards. It was originally meant to be a supertype, but supertypes can’t have subtypes associated with them. Only types can have lists of subtypes associated with with, and thus Tribal is a type instead of a supertype even though it always appears with another non-creature type on a card.

gotcubes  asked:

If I sacrifice Zombie token to Ashnod's Altar, followed by Grave Titan to float 4 generic mana, and Nim Deathmantle triggers, and an opponent responds by activating Tormod's Crypt to exile my graveyard, can Nim Deathmantle's ability still bring back Grave Titan if it is no longer in the graveyard when its trigger resolves? Grave Titan did hit the graveyard, and Nim Deathmantle doesn't specify that gets brought back from the graveyard, just that it's brought back to play. Fun EDH situations!

No, this doesn’t work.

Nim Deathmantle will lose track of a creature if it leaves the graveyard after it dies since it becomes a new object that Deathmantle can’t track.

gotcubes  asked:

If Sphinx's Tutelage mills two nonland cards that share a color, does repeating the process include targeting an opponent? For instance, if Opponent A's milling causes Tutelage to repeat, can I target Opponent B for the second repetition of the process so long as they remain a legal target?

No.

You continue with the same opponent.

gotcubes  asked:

If I control Vexing Shusher, and I cast another spell, can I activate Shusher's ability in response to a counter spell? Or would I have to activate it at the same time I cast the spell?

You can activate in response to a counterspell.