genre: romance

silverpetticoatreview.com
What's Coming To Streaming in September 2016 - For Fans of Period Dramas, Old-Fashioned Romance & More | The Silver Petticoat Review
What's new to streaming: Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, Acorn, Dramafever & more. A list for period drama, classic, romance, genre & international drama fans.

A list of what’s coming to streaming in September 2016. This is a selective list for fans of period dramas, classics, genre, romance, artsy films, international shows, & more! Streaming sites include Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, Dramafever, Feeln, Viki, & Acorn TV!

Legit Tip #176

or - “Writing Characters in Established Relationships”

The majority of time, when relationships are prominent in fiction, they cover the beginnings of relationships - how couples get together. First meetings and the difficulties that people face in getting to know each other and falling in love. And there’s definitely something magical and special and lovely about that.

But there’s something just as special and lovely about couples who have been together for a while - who have already had the time to get to know each other and grow together. Which is why I love it when stories open with characters who are already in established relationships. I think it goes without saying, though, that there are special challenges that come with writing characters who are already in established relationships.

First things first  - I think anybody writing a couple in an established relationship needs to realize that there is always going to be a history there. And just like you can’t infodump with the worldbuilding of a story, you can’t infodump with a couple and tell the reader everything there is to know about how they got together, and what they’ve been through. So that leads me to one of my first major points.

Reveal backstory through interaction. One of my favorite couples is Tess and Joel from Naughty Dog’s “The Last of Us.” Though they were never officially confirmed as a couple, it was pretty obvious that they were together romantically in some sense. And really, it was the fact that it was never made explicit that makes them such a good example for this point.

Apart from a few lines of dialogue and the fact that they’re working together on a mission to retrieve stolen weapons, there isn’t much to tell you that they’re “together” - not even body language. (There’s not the chance for that sort of thing). What we do see is that they’ve had a hard life together. That they’re partners in criminal activity. That they’ve been together for several years. And we know that they’re both hard people. 

So how can you do the same? As a writer, you can reveal your characters’ backstory in the same way through your characters’ shared experiences. Remember that they’ve lived a life together by this point, so use that to your advantage. When the chance arises, have them remember some little detail that gives you the opportunity to bring up something from their past. 

How are couples who have been together for a while different from “established” couples? Hoo boy. This is actually a tricky question to answer because, well, every couple is different. But as I already said, remember that any couple who has been together for a while has had the chance to get to know each other - has had the chance to merge their lives and established patterns, routines, and a sense of domesticity. 

Showing your reader the way that your characters live can help give them a sense of who they are together - who they are as a couple. To give you another video game example, there are some great scenes in “Uncharted 4″ where we get to see Nate and Elena in their home, living their lives together. It’s awesome because in the earlier games we are getting to see the beginning of their relationship, and now we’re seeing them as a couple who have been together for a while. 

Honestly, these details aren’t boring to readers if you present them in a way that isn’t boring. (I know, easier said than done…) But showing your reader just a little bit of insight into the way that your characters live is a great way to invite readers in. 

Romances with established couples honestly shouldn’t be as rare as they are. They’re a great way of inviting readers into the “ever after” part of the Happily Ever After. And even if it’s not all bliss, it’s interesting and dynamic and can make for great storytelling, no matter the genre that you decide to insert it into. 

The Signs as first dates

Aries: Red-hot blushes // sweaty palms // deafening laughter

Taurus: holding hands // unexpected embraces // holding out doors for one another

Gemini: Concealing smile // going off on a tangent // Truth of Dare

Cancer: Emotionally-revealing stares // constant apologies // unexpected embraces

Leo: Cheeky smiles // Piercing Eyes // holding hands

Virgo: Inappropriate day-dreaming // intermittent “ummmms” // rushed love confessions

Libra: Purposefully cringey humor // wanted silence in between // involuntary grins

Scorpio: Awe-filled stares // dilation of the pupil // impractical dares

Sagittarius: DANK M E M E S // fiery debates // bad karaoke

Capricorn: Dropped Jaw // Inquisitive Eyes // awkward silence

Aquarius: Resting your head on their shoulder // Softly said “goodnight” // singing along to whatever’s on the radio

Pisces: Awkwardly crying on the movie date // hugs you never wished had ended // a bath of compliments

From the August 13, 1951 photo essay - ‘I See My Love’ — A Romance in Photographic Fiction. The caption read: “Near the end of summer, after we had been apart for many weeks, I met her unexpectedly at a beach with her new admirer. She was enjoying herself, I thought, all to obviously, and it was all too obvious to myself that I was still in love with her. Perhaps I always will be. (Leonard McCombe—The LIFE Images Collection/Getty Images) #thisweekinLIFE #LIFEmagazine #romance

Made with Instagram