gelatin

Marshmallows, Jello, and most gummies contain gelatin, but did you know that gelatin is made of the boiled skin, tendons, and ligaments of slaughtered animals?

Sponsored Link
Veganissimo A to Z: A Comprehensive Guide to Identifying and Avoiding Ingredients of Animal Origin in Everyday Products can be purchased at BookBoutique. An online bookstore for offline reading.

ShopVegan

Scary Facts You Learn When Becoming Vegan/Vegetarian
  • Ever wondered why most candies are so shiny? They’re often coated with shellac or E904, a sticky substance derived from secretions of the female Kerria lacca, an insect native to Thailand.
  • A round of beers may sound like the perfect way to celebrate but watch what brand you’re drinking. Some alcohol contains isinglass, a substance produced from the swim bladder of fish.
  • Natural red 4, E120, cochineal or carmine might seem harmless but this colouring (which is in a lot of foods and cosmetics) is made by boiling female cochineal insect shells in ammonia or a sodium carbonate solution. It takes 70,000 bugs to produce one pound of dye. 
  • Sometimes “natural flavouring” isn’t exactly what you had it mind. Castoreum is an FDA-approved food additive made from beaver’s anal glands and urine secretions.
  • Most of us have heard of gelatin which is in most jello, marshmallows and gummy candies. (However it can also be found in some yogurts, frosting, cream cheese, sour cream, ice-cream and other products.) But not many people realise that it is made from boiled skin, tendons and bones from cows and pigs.
  • Rennet is a popular ingredient in making dairy cheese and is even used in some soy based cheeses. It is a fluid that is extracted from the inside of a goat’s, calf’s or sheep’s stomach then used in the cheese making process. Most often a by-product of veal production.