fair play award


Greats Of The Game - Carles Puyol, Central Defender

Mainly a central defender, he could also play on either flank, mostly as a right back, and was regarded as one of the best defenders of his generation. 

A one-club man, he served as the longtime team captain for his only club Barcelona after taking over from Luis Enrique in August 2004, and went on to appear in 593 official games for the club and win 21 major titles, notably six La Liga trophies and three Champions League.

Keep reading


Javier Mascherano receives FC Barcelona’s 2015 Fair Play award

The prize is awarded by a jury that consists of representatives of the Generalitat de Catalunya, Barcelona City Council, and representatives of different media. Other nominees included Iniesta, Messi, Pique, Xavi, and Rakitic. Alfonseda also said a special mention was given to Luis Suarez “for his attitude”.

Mascherano, on receiving the award:

“I want to thank the club for this distinction. And above all, I value this award even more because it comes from former players who know what this club demands from its players. I hope to spend many more years at FC Barcelona. Thank you very much.”

Josep Maria Bartomeu, presenting the award to Mascherano:

“These are acts that define Barcelona. I’m glad to award this to Javier. When I saw the list of nominees, it was clear that he deserved it.

In 2010, I was part of the sports area, and I remember I had a meeting with Pep, Zubizarreta, and Tito, where the name of Javier came up after the Gamper. We commissioned his move and it was late August - there was little left of the market, but the matter of signing him was either yes or yes. I took a plane and went to England, and I remember it was a difficult signing because the people of Liverpool knew that they had a great player in him. But Mascherano was firm. To come to Barcelona, he not only gave up money, but he and his family had to put in a lot of energy so that the operation took shape and could be completed.

With time, Javier has proven us right. He has become an even better player, and he has been reinvented - We did not sign him as a centre-back, just so you know.

But the best thing about Mascherano is his human part, his honesty. He is a friend of friends. And Javier, I know you did not want to be captain, but I’m already glad that you are.”


16 Oct 2012 - Miro received the fair play award during WCQ match of Germany vs Sweden in Berlin.

I was there in the stadium but the place I was standing could not get a good shot of that scene and I only managed to snap the second photo i.e. the medal he was getting…

FIFA Fair Play Award: Colombia
The Group C winners who reached the quarter-finals were given this award, not only for collecting just five yellow cards in their five matches at Brazil 2014, but for scoring highly in the criteria set by FIFA’s Technical Study Group, which includes positive play, respect towards the opponent and match officials, as well as the behaviour of their team officials and supporters.