estonian war of independence

Estonian soldiers fighting with the White Army. While the Bolsheviks were successful in gaining control of Russia, the White forces didn’t experience defeat on all fronts. A number of countries were successful in keeping the Reds at bay, including Finland, Poland, and the Baltic nations.

Tartu Peace Treaty was signed between Estonia and Soviet Russia on February 2nd, 1920, thus ending the Estonian War of Independence that had lasted for 1 year, 2 months and 5 days.

The terms of the treaty stated that “Russia unreservedly recognises” the independence of Republic of Estonia de jure and renounced in perpetuity all rights to the territory of Estonia.