eod badge


The Wreath
Symbolic of the achievements and laurels gained minimizing accident potentials through the ingenuity and devotion to duty of its members. It is in memory of those EOD officers and men who gave their lives while performing EOD duties.

The Bomb
Copied from the design of the World War II Bomb Disposal Badge, the bomb represents the historic and major objective of the EOD attack, the unexploded bomb. The three fins represent the major areas of nuclear, conventional and chemical/biological interest.

Lightning Bolts
Symbolize the potential destructive power of the bomb and the courage and professionalism of EOD personnel in their endeavors to reduce hazards as well as to render explosive ordnance harmless.

The Shield
Represents the EOD mission - to prevent a detonation and protect the surrounding area and property to 

Meaning of Each Level
There are three levels of the Explosive Ordnance Disposal Badge. The first is the Basic EOD, the second is the Senior EOD and the third is the Master EOD. Requirements vary between the badge levels and branches of service. In general, the Basic badge requires explosive handling training and between 18 to 24 months of on-the-job training. The Senior badge is issued after three to five years as a specialist. Those with between seven and 15 years of service in a senior, supervisory position may receive the Master badge.