St Marys Church Ellel by Barry Smith
St. Mary’s Chapel, Ellel Grange, was built by Alderman Preston and consecrated in 1873. The Chapel is unused and in a state of disrepair. The site lies to the south of Ellel Grange on the edge of a well wooded knoll. It is completely screened from all sides by mature woodland with access to the site being via a long single track access road on the western side of the A6. The site itself contains the existing Chapel building (formerly known as the Church of St. Mary and now known as Kings Lee Chapel) and the detached small Mausoleum building. These buildings are redundant at present and are in the ownership of Ellel Ministries, who have been seeking a viable use of the Grade II* listed Chapel building which is in need of repair and is currently on the English Heritage Buildings at risk register in the priority C category.