edit: waltz

“If Orpheus first produced the waltz.”  Color process illustration by Arthur Rackham for The Ingoldsby Legends, written by Thomas Ingoldsby, (Richard Harris Barham), and published in 1907.  

Waltz in A-flat major, Op. 69, No. 1, is a waltz composed by Frédéric Chopin. It is also called The Farewell Waltz or Valse de l'adieu.

Opening bars of Op. 69 No.1

The waltz was originally written as a farewell piece to Maria Wodzińska, to whom Chopin was once engaged. This autographed copy Pour Mlle Marie, given to her in Dresden, Germany, in September 1835, is now in the National Library (Biblioteka Narodowa) of Poland in Warsaw. Another autographed version of the piece can be found at the Conservatoire de Paris, but is considered to be a less refined version. A third is presented as the posthumous edition of Julian Fontana, but has not been substantiated by any known autograph.

Performer:Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli.Flawless dynamics and technique.

Waltz No. 14 in E Minor, Op.posth
Frédéric Chopin
Waltz No. 14 in E Minor, Op.posth

The Waltz in E minor is a waltz for solo piano by Frédéric Chopin. It was composed c. 1830 and published in 1868.

Opening bars of No. 14 in E minor.

It was the first of Chopin’s posthumously published waltzes not to be given a posthumous opus number. It appears in Brown’s catalogue as B. 56, in Kobylańska’s catalogue as KK IVa/15, and in Chomiński (pl)’s as P1/15. Although this is the final (fourteenth) waltz in the older editions of Chopin (other waltzes being included in more recent editions), this waltz was likely composed before any of the waltzes published in Chopin’s lifetime.

Performer:Vladimir Ashkenazy.