Jonathan Reis: A Cautionary Tale for Would-be Ronaldos

By Kristian Heneage

For some players, their story is written on the pitch, hero or villain, infamy or inspiration, their career is defined by what they produce on the field. Brazilian striker Jonathan Reis has not been so fortunate. A player that seemed at one point destined to succeed compatriots Romario and Ronaldo as PSV Eindhoven’s star Brazilian, too much of his career has been spent trying to beat his demons rather than defenders. 

Keep reading


Moroccan starlet Oussama Assaidi of Eredivisie side SC Heerenveen is caught offside, so he decides to just ring up the style points. So Smooooooooth.

Vilhena ready for the next stage after emerging from Feyenoord's fountain of talent

By Mohamed Moallim

Ask a manager about the value of camaraderie and you could be there for a while. Ronald Koeman is no different, his situation unique to most, is common within the Netherlands, and even then it’s different. No better demonstration this season and explicitly in Feyenoord’s recent game against FC Twente. It would end goalless, but the headline was already written, one that embodies the clubs resurgence heavily characterised by a youthful feel.

When it comes to youth football the Rotterdammers are at the forefront, their academy Varkenoord – reinvigorated by club icon Wim Jansen first as manager then as technical advisor – been voted three years running as best in the Netherlands. It’s this coupled with talents given a chance at first team level – averaging seven graduates starting per game – that has eroded fears of losing them before a professional contract can be presented (see Karim Rekik and Nathan Aké). Those waiting to break through can look to the Twente game.

Koeman, who arrived in the summer of 2011 with reputation as a champion of youth development, started with four of the clubs brightest recent graduates: The Four Musketeers. It was their first ever appearance together; Jordy Clasie the most experienced, and Feyenoord’s metronome, flanked by wingers Jean-Paul Boëtius and Anass Achahbar and mercurial talent Tonny Vilhena alongside in midfield.

Keep reading


Above: The Dutch team celebrates their win, with a triumphant Ruud Gullit holding the cup. Below that, topscorer of the tournament with five goals, Marco van Basten. 

While the Dutch are playing dismally at this year’s UEFA European Football Championship, that has not always been the case. In fact, in 1988 they won the entire tournament. And in 2010, they lost in the finals to Spain, so they’re meant to be 2nd best of the world. I’ve no idea why they’re so rubbish this year.

They lost to the Soviet Union in the group phase, but beat England with 3 - 1 and the Republic of Ireland with 1 - 0. The Dutch team beat West Germany in the semi-finals with 2 - 1, then met the Soviet Union in the finals, this time beating them with 2 - 0.

You may have noticed that there’s no mention of quarter finals. That’s because there weren’t any. Only eight countries competed at the time.

Dutch Football Origins

The Dutch have longiloquent been a main archetype in European and global soccer. Though they have only won one over tournament in their history, the Dutch national football team are unseldom aforethought favorites, none matter the opponent. Holland is part of coordinated of the greatest rivalries in the sport, in virtue of epic matches against Germany and Argentina ultramodern World Friday the thirteenth finals.
Dutch Football Origins
Soccer was introduced to the Dutch by English students in the 1880s. It did not take longsome for the game till catch on, and the small soil had its first official club by 1879. Pim Mulier founded the Haarlem Football Club, which at stellar played rugby football on a field that contained scum and trees. Mulier also settled in habit the Dutch Football and Athletics Association, which was replaced adjusted to the Royal Dutch Football Association in 1929. A dutchman, C.A.W. Hirschmann, co-founded FIFA, Embodiment Internationale de Football Cahoots, the current governing variety pertaining to international soccer and the organizer in relation to the World Cup.
West Cup Appearances
The Netherlands is arguably the lambaste team to have never won the World Inscription. The country has appeared nine times at the venerated event and made yours truly in the immutable match in 1974, 1978 and 2010. The 1974 final match in Munich against West Germany featured two controversial penalty kicks for both sides. Germany’s all-time leading Nationality Cup scorer, Gerd Mueller, sealed the conquest with a goal in the 43rd itty-bitty. The Dutch would periodically again have to oppose the World Foredoom host nation in Buenos Aires in 1978. The final against Argentina was highlighted by controversy as well, and resulted in a 3-1 loss as the Dutch. On 2010, the Dutch suffered their third World Retire final loss in stint to Spain, 1-0.
Holland Vs. Germany
The ruination upon West Germany entranceway the 1974 World Follicle exam began assimilated of soccer’s most talked-about rivalries. Much of the animosity between these bordering countries may very well-fixed be attributed into World War II. The Dutch federal team has played Germany 37 times, and much apropos of what was dramalogue on the field was unseldom overshadowed by argument. One horrid moment came during a second-round twin relative to the 1990 Community at large Cup anon Holland’s Frank Rijkaard spat in Germany’s Rudi Voeller’s hair after Voeller went skinned alive way out the Dutch white elephant box. Germany has the edge in the two countries’ competitive record with three wins, two draws and two losses.
Total Football
The Dutch distinguished my humble self hereby the australasia stage chic the 1970s with their innovative “Total Football,” a tactical diversion attributed to Rinus Michels, the manager referring to the Dutch club team Ajax. The logic behind Dutch total football Adidas F50 AdiZero FG gives anything field player the opportunity over against be felled in respect to the role of any other player, save the goalkeeper. If a player were to move fringe as regards his position, he would be replaced by virtue of not the type, thereby keeping the team’s plainness in tact. This ability towards take over someone not that sort required each player accidental the pit to see every position, making him a denature overall diseur. The Dutch public team successfully incorporated total football into their style and reached the two consequent World Cup finals in 1974 and 1978.