dustin mcdaniel

Arkansas judge strikes down state's ban on same-sex marriage

AP: An Arkansas judge struck down the state’s constitutional ban on same-sex marriage on Friday, declaring that it violates the rights of couples.

The judge ruled the ban was unconstitutional nearly a week after the state’s Attorney General Dustin McDaniel said he personally supports same-sex marriage rights but that he will continue to defend the ban in court.

McDaniel’s office is expected to appeal the ruling to the Arkansas Supreme Court.

Follow updates on BreakingNews.com. 

Arkansas same-sex marriage ban ruled unconstitutional

Today a federal judge ruled that Arkansas’s state ban on marriage equality is unconstitutional. 

U.S. District Judge Kristine Baker ruled that the ban discriminates against people on the basis of sexual orientation, but she put a stay on the ruling, so same-sex marriages cannot begin immediately.

“The fact that Amendment 83 was adopted by referendum does not immunize it from federal constitutional scrutiny,” Baker wrote in her ruling.

The state’s marriage laws and the amendment violate the U.S. Constitution by “precluding same-sex couples from exercising their fundamental right to marry in Arkansas, by not recognizing valid same-sex marriages from other states, and by discriminating on the basis of gender,” she wrote.

Baker put the ruling on hold, anticipating an appeal to the 8th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, based in St. Louis.

A spokesman for Democratic Attorney General Dustin McDaniel said McDaniel was reviewing the ruling and would decide after the Thanksgiving holiday whether to appeal in consultation with Republican Attorney General-elect Leslie Rutledge.

“We appreciate Judge Baker’s implementation of a stay in this matter in order to avoid confusion and uncertainty as this case goes through the appeals process,” spokesman Aaron Sadler said in an email.

Jack Wagoner, a lawyer for the couples who had told the judge last week that same-sex marriage would eventually be legal nationwide, said he was pleased with her decision.

“She’s on the right side of history,” Wagoner said. “It’s pretty clear where history’s heading on this issue.”

Arkansas?! I’m a believer. 

P.S. Hey, Supreme Court. Wink, wink. We’re waiting for you. 

Last Night...

Baltimore passed it’s 300th killing in the city. People will use this figure to continuously dump on the city, blaming everyone they can think of for its crime and violence, but they’ll forget one thing: 300 is not just a number.

Here are the names of everyone killed within the city limits so far this year:

Karim Bonner, Josphat Kobia, Leon Fleming, Matthew Thomas, Brian Chase, John Walsh, Robert Thomas, Troy Preston, Darius White, Anthony Richardson, Troy Pinkney, Donte Downer, David Hall, Harry Smith, Jason Ballard, Dashawn Allbrook, Marlon Harvey, Davon Johnson, Stephen Foreman, James Smith, Stephen Vaise, Victor Underwood Black, Marvin Barrett, Tavares Swinson, Derrick Dargan, John Imbragulio, James Williams, James Maurice Edward Jr., Malik Fuller, Unidentified Man, Kevin Mason, Jawan Goode, Leedell Brown, Owen Crayton, Anthony Reese, Dwayne Reid, Markez Jones, Djuan Tillett, Tameka Mobley, Terrell Walston, Davon Jordan, Alton Wallace III, Daniel Brooks, Sterling Day, Jarrell Hicks, Andre Robinson, Travis Dixon, Victor Gwaltney III, Kemmontay Mitchell, Jeremy Ward, Felicity Shelton, Carla Harrison, Steven Jackson, Jamar Green, Tyrone Damon, Tywaun Short, Billy Vines, Kevin Hill, Mark Nicholson, Jamal Rosebourgh, Troy Palmer, Carvell Jones, Nicole Torain, Reanna Greene, Daquain Tate, Tierell Wilder, Kareem George, Tyleah Fenwick, Martin Brooks, Ricky Chambers Jr., Andre Hunt, Davon William Johnson, James Maurice Johnson, Freddie Gray, Yogesh Sheth, Byron Showell, Khai Hebron, Jorvon Beatty, Keith Watts, Rodney Vandette Johnson, Melissa Anne Bingham, Armand Parrine, Paul Smith, Ivan McBroom, Matthew Hughes, Harry Davis, Odell Stewart, Louis Hicks, Tahil Yasin, Shawn Scott, Tiffany Chisholm, Wade Purvey Jr., Eric Diggs Jr., Shawn Hickman, Kelvin Warfield, Melody Johnson, Michael Smith, Jarmar James, Darell Alston, Charles Adams, Tyrin Diggs, Hassan Fields, James Mckoy, Bruce Fleming Jr., Umika Smith, Charles Jackson Jr., Shaquil Hinton, Charles Dobbins, Keith Leon Booze, Jennifer Jeffrey, Kester Browne, Eladio Bennett, Justin Mensupha-Bey, Ronnie Thomas III, Kevin Hart Jr., Terrell Patterson, Tony Moody, Gerald Smith, Jerod Richardson, Montez Parker, Tyrone Hamber, Calvin Bryant, Malcolm Alonzo Rodgers, Kevin Jones, Arnesha Bowers, Ronnie Walden, Elery Hudson, Andrew Powell, Antoine Johnson, Jamon Corprew, Curtis D. Mitchell, Jerome J. Grant, Steven L. Bass, Michael S. Montgomery, Pernell Morris, Henry MacArthur, Bernard Dorsey, Alan Durant Gilbert, Leasia Carter, Cory Turman, Tommy David Thomas, Marcus Warren, Jose Alejandro Cartagena, Brian Augins, Ivan J. Cox Jr., Nathaniel Wheeler Jr., Josh Remus Burnett, Keith Glascoe, Edward Burroughs, Derwin Jones, John F. Davis, Lamont Randall Jr., Gerald Thompson, Jaqueline Parker Antonio Anderson, Eric Forrester, Gary Jackson, Gregory Higgins, James Ricardo Smith, Tyrell Hardy, Darrius Johnson, Dante Barnes, Marvin Coston Jr., Frederick S. Taylor, Steven Justin Lewis, Tyrone Johnson, Robert Lee Jackson, Ronald Davon Penn, Terron Singleton, Damon Tisdale, Delvin Trusty, Shyteak Lawrence, Albert Mullen, Sina Masoodi, Raja’ee Naneem Sincere, Jefferson Bolden, Clerow Myers III, Daquan Mason, Damon L. Ramsey, Charles Diggs, Jaswinder Singh, Marcus Downer, Michael Polston, Franklin Grayson, Lorad C. Warner, Marquis Tisdale, Teon Simms, Jermaine Mitter, Donte Dixon Jr., Gregory Tynes, Terrence Boyd, Alvin Phillips, Darod Rosenburough, La Tonya Denise Battle, Tranell Dansbury, Robert Mullins, Christopher Giles, Steven Krug, Jerome Smith, Dontaye McDaniel, David Lamont Nolan, Sheldon Eubanks, Timothy Francher, Franklin Morris, Tyrik Adams, Marquise Caldwell, Melvin Heckstell, Kevin Carey, Paul Passley, Brandon Smith, Angelo Yancy, Richard Dabbs Jr., Thelonious Monk, Jason Summers, Raykwon Young, Darryl Wyche, Keenan Stanfield, Kevin Gray, Kevin Lyde, Ryan Mims, Michael Thompson, Daymar Rogers, Tyvonte Worrell, Theophilus Ruffin, Keith Gale, Antoine Smith, Kason Williams, Lamont Montague, Terry Whittaker, Stonie Baker, Romel Simms, Kirk Butler, Thomas Meehan, Michael Nichols, Troy Mitter, Darris Darnell Davis, Tondayo Johnson, Pierre Epps-Hamilton, Dante Lamont Barnes, Diane Griffin, Antonio McNeil, Cecil Harris, Kevin Cannady, Christina Gowran, Rayshawn Jones, Amir Billings, Tayvon Wilson, Juanito Mosquita, Brian Johnson, Kevin White, Deyquawn Cooper, Gordon Williams, James Gaylord, Ronald Stewart, Ryan Green, Noran Torbet, Wendell Taylor, Levar Round, James Anderson, Yeison Carreto-Guttierrez, Eigene Nesbitt, Keon Smith, Tabitha Holton, Markel Benson, Avery Kelly, Terrell Jones, Terrance Johnson, Andre Clark Jr., Dorian Pate Jr., Angel Powell, Kelavin Weaver, David Brown, Maurice Swilling, Daniel Blackston, Andrew Mack, Travon Venable, Calvin Ellis, Dustin Howes, Larry McDaniels, Damien Best, Matthew Kirsch, Monard Holeman Jr., Quentin Heard, Anthony Rucker, Dominic Walker, Quantaz Christian, Dale Abrams, Earl Keith Burton, Darryl Whitehead, James Dews, Lerell McBride, Robert Joseph Adams, Trevon Joyner, David Nance, David Moore, Kendal Fenwick, Gerald Stokes, Jaquan Holt, Unidentified Man, Tavon Allen, Unidentified Man, and Unidentified Man.