down to stars

8

Black men are so fine when they don’t even be trying 🍫✨😍

Just talking to some peeps ;3

(Thank you all those who wished me to get better, the requests will be out soon)

You wanna know why I think Padme is interpreted so differently by different people, or just completely ignored by most? I don’t think a lot of people want to reconcile with the fact that Padme is a smart, strong leader who can stay cool under pressure with the Padme that’s also so unapologetically romantic. They don’t want this to be the same person, because they just don’t think they go together. But Padme is. And a lot of women are. And you almost never see women be both in the media. They’re usually one or the other.

That’s why to some she’s the strong woman that George Lucas made completely out of character or she’s this weak, awful mother who didn’t stick around when her two children should have been able to rely on her, all because of a man. They don’t think that the 14-year-old girl who defeated the trade federation could also be the 27-year-old woman who had her heart completely and totally broken by her husband (though I don’t believe that was the only thing that broke her heart that day. The two things she had devoted her life to, The Republic and Anakin, had crashed and burned all in the same day, right in front of her eyes. That would take a toll on anybody.)

And, also, where did this concept of her making totally rational decisions all the time come about? She married a guy, like, 2 weeks after she saw him again for the first time in 10 years. Idk why people always take her actions in rots as out of character. She has a track record for not making totally smart decisions when it comes to Anakin.

Calling out to all people on Tumblr that complain about the lack of diversity on television. 

WATCH STILL STAR- CROSSED. I REPEAT. WATCH STILL STAR- CROSSED. 

It has a largely diverse cast in period costumes, like c’mon. 

The main female lead is Black and is in no way an accessory for the White male lead. They are equals (in fact she might have a tad bit more screen time). 

There are strong, bad ass women that really overshadow their male counterparts at times. 

*Also if you’re a fan of the enemies turned lovers trope, then you will absolutely love this. 

Please support this! We have lost some great diverse shows because of the undeserved low ratings. Don’t let this be another one.

Originally posted by dailystillstarcrossed

That thing where Networks air an amazing show with a great, inclusive, representative cast, only to offer it no promotion, no exposure, but then blame its cancellation on lack of viewership and high cost.

Like gee, I wonder why ya’ll aren’t making your money back or attracting audiences. Let people know the show exists, perhaps? 

Still star crossed isn’t renewed for a second season. It’s going to be canceled. Just like Pitch, The Get Down, Sense 8, Twisted, Deception, Sweet/Vicious, and basically anything that isn’t centered on the comfortable ignorance of society without diversity or inclusion. Fuck. Everyone. That. Had. Anything. To. Do. With. It.

1divergent2hg  asked:

Do you have any book recs that will keep us busy while we wait for Turtles All the Way Down?

Oh yeah. For Sure. 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

If you love John Green’s beautiful prose and adore the friendships from Looking For Alaska and Paper Towns, then this gorgeously written novel by Mosquitoland author David Arnold is sure to scratch that John Green itch while you wait for October. If that’s not enough, then you should pick up…

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Meditative and beautiful, this moody contemporary featuring a lesbian character takes place at a college campus, deserted for winter break as two friends attempt to bridge the gap that formed between them after one of them suffered a terrible loss. Beautiful and haunting, this arresting novel by beloved Nina LaCour is sure to make you shed some tears. If you’re looking for something more upbeat but still awesome, then look for… 

And We’re Off by Dana Schwartz 

Perfect for anyone who loves reading books by internet celebrities, this charming summer novel arrives to us from Dana Schwartz, the genius behind parody twitter accounts @GuyInYourMFA and @DystopianYA. In this book celebrating art, geekery, and the mother-daughter relationship, we follow Nora on a roadtrip through Europe. Perfect for fans of An Abundance of Katherines

Still looking for more? Here’s a whole list of books that will help ease the wait!