The story of the grand cathedral begins in 1160 when newly appointed bishop of Paris, Maurice de Sully, ordered for a new cathedral to built on a site where another cathedral once stood. Three years later, the cornerstone was laid on the site by either de Sully or Pope Alexander III. The eastern side was the first side to be worked on and finished in 1182. The west side then started under the watch of Maurice’s successor, Eudes de Sully in 1200. Yet the western side was not completed until 1225; after Eudes’ death. Twenty five years later, in 1250, the western towers and rose windows were completed. However, the entire church itself would not be completed until 1345. About four hundred years later during the French Revolution, the church was looted and vandalized during the riots and protests against the monarchy rule. Yet, the Notre Dame- which simply translates to “Our Lady”, which refers to the Virgin Mary- remains to be one of France’s oldest and iconic landmarks.