david h. bell

LIVESTREAM ANNOUNCEMENT - SATURDAY, JUNE 21st

Hello, tumblr-ites!

So as many of you know I am a huge fan of the musical Chess, and in particular I’ve recently been raving about the 1990 Long Beach production of the show, starring Jodi Benson (voice of Ariel in Disney's The Little Mermaid) as Florence.

Well, lo and behold a video bootleg of the production was discovered recently, and this being a somewhat momentous occasion for Chess fans I felt it would be appropriate to host a livestream of the video for all to see.

So for those interested, the livestream will be this Saturday, June 21st, at 11:00 AM Pacific Daylights Time (1:00 PM Central Daylights Time, 2:00 PM Eastern Daylights Time). This is a very strong production of the show and probably one of the best American productions, so I highly encourage you guys to come along and enjoy yourselves.

For any of you who haven’t seen/heard of the musical Chess, here’s the rundown: Chess is a rock musical set during the height of the Cold War, centered around the 1979 World Chess Championship between the brash American champion Freddie Trumper (Kim Strauss) and the Soviet grandmaster Anatoly Sergievsky (Robert Yacko). Florence Vassy (Jodi Benson), the American’s second and our main character, finds herself in the midst of East/West conflict and a doomed love triangle as she searches for her long-missing father.

Chess features a musical score by Tim Rice (Jesus Christ SuperstarThe Lion KingEvita) and Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus of ABBA, and features such hits as “One Night in Bangkok” and “I Know Him So Well”. The libretto was written by Richard Nelson, and originally directed on Broadway by Trevor Nunn. This production features direction and a revised script by David H. Bell.

I’ll post reminders about the stream later in the week - hope to see you all there!

(production picture originally posted by arqueete - go follow her, she’s great)