cuban league

Ebbets Field - Santa Clara 1938 Ballcap | The Santa Clara Leopards won the Cuban League title in five of their eleven seasons. The team featured an assortment of great Black American League stars, including Josh Gibson and Oscar Charleston. Since the Cuban League played in the winter, Black American league players were able to extend their season - and thus their paychecks - by signing on to Cuban clubs, who did not segregate on the basis of race.


Newsreel footage of opening night of the 1958-59 Cuban League season.