Video of our second gig ever! In Little Green, High Street, Dublin with Crayonsmith, Big Monster Love and Rhino Magic. An amazing night <3

Crayonsmith to headline show at the Bello Bar this weekend

.@Crayonsmith to headline show at the @BelloBarDublin this weekend w/ @ginnels @owensiemusic

Dublin indie outfit Crayonsmith are set to perform a headline set at the Bello Bar this Saturday, November 15th.

The indie trio, known for their unique blend of alternative-rock and indie-pop elements best seen on the albums White Wonder (2006) and the more recent sophomore release Milk Teeth, will play the Dublin venue this weekend supported by an exciting array of acts.

Joining Crayonsmith at…

View On WordPress

Irish indie label Bluestack Records has released a 20 track compilation album There Is A Light in aid of First Fortnight an arts based mental health awareness project and festival.

Coming as part of this year’s Green Ribbon campaign to get people talking about mental health this May, the compilation is brimming with some of the countries most diverse and unique talents performing at the moment.

Entitled There Is A Light includes tracks from a wide-range of acts and genres including O Emperor, the Altered Hours, Crayonsmith, Windings, Band of Clouds and Biggles Flys Again.

A worthwhile release for an important issue,There Is A Light also highlights the strength and depth of creativity currently being produced in Ireland at the moment.

There Is A Light is out now, while a launch gig will take place in Whelan’s, Dublin on Thursday May 29th. For more information visit and See full list of acts below.

There Is A Light compilation:

1. O Emperor – Whitener (Part 1)
2. Windings – Embury Greenway
3. Dylan Tighe – Lamotrigine
4. SlowPlaceLikeHome – Vessels
5. Christof – Honey Tears
6. Si Schroeder – Eyes Wide
7. Owensie – Cat & Mouse
8. Ambience Affair – Fragile Things
9. Sacred Animals – Welcome Home
10. GRIM – Splendour
11. Hidden Highways – Next Time Round
12. Crayonsmith – Crysallis
13. The Great Balloon Race – Bhutan
14. Biggles Flys Again – Destinations
15. Winter Aid – Stacks, Mountains
16. The Casanova Wave – Play, for the night is coming
17. Damh – (Listen to their) Voices
18. Replete – Frequency Palenque
19. Band of Clouds – Who Shot the Bluejay?
20. The Altered Hours – I’m on a hight

@BlueStackRcrds releases compilation in aid of @firstfortnight w/ @oemperormusic @Crayonsmith @windings

Irish indie label Bluestack Records has released a 20 track compilation album There Is A Light…

@BlueStackRcrds releases compilation in aid of @firstfortnight w/ @oemperormusic @Crayonsmith @windings Irish indie label Bluestack Records has released a 20 track compilation album There Is A Light…

Interview with Crayonsmith

Gig :: Crayonsmith / Big Monster Love / Cave Ghosts / Rhino Magic

Adore this poster for Friday’s gig at Little Green Gallery. Made by @meertoh, each picture made me smile, just as the line-up did when I first heard about it a few weeks ago.

Crayonsmith are signed to the excellent Out On A Limb with a new album due next year. The last album White Wonder was an outstanding listen on its release in 2008 and a follow-up has been keenly awaited. We heard from the band earlier this year with the airy Heaven In An Aeroplane, which confirmed that Ciaran Smyth’s yen for for synthy, singable pop songs is still going strong. I’d say it’s a fair bet we’ll hear strains of the new stuff on Friday.

It’s not for me to say, of course, whether or not this has been a good year for Big Monster Love.  But supporting Jens Lekman and having your friends and label compadres throw a surprise party to reveal a secret they’d been keeping in Plunderphonics, a covers album of the songs they love from your debut, would mark it out as pretty special to me. This excellent video is one of my faves from Game Over which was released in 2011.

I always think of Rhino Magic as an irreverent little brother of Big Monster Love, in that they make a very sympathetic pairing. An aficionado of lo fi guitar, it’s actually hard to tell what the set at this gig will end up sounding like…Joseph Kielthy’s music is about as straightforward as his sense of humour: not immediately apparent but brilliant when it clicks.

Cave Ghosts are the newest kids on the bill, having popped up a short while ago with a bright and breezy songwriting attitude that brings to mind the surf-tang romance of Best Coast. There’s a free 3-track EP of demos to download from Bandcamp but it’ll be my first time seeing them if I can get along to the gig.

Admission to the gig on Friday is €10 and it’s BYOB so if you fancy getting into the Christmas spirit with mulled wine or hot buttered rum, bring your own hob and saucepans.