Mallow Castle is a 33-acre site composed of gardens and parkland on which three buildings sit: the remains of a 16th-century fortified house (pictured above), a 19th-century mansion to the north, and the ruins of a 13th-century castle to the east. The fortified house is a long rectangular three-storey building, with two polygonal towers on the north-west and south-west corners. It is early Jacobean in style, featuring high gables, stepped battlements, and mullioned windows. The wings of the house project from the center of the south and north walls, with the entrance in the north wing. The design of the house was to provide a field of fire around it entirely.
The 16th-century fortified house is believed to have been built by Sir Thomas Norreys before his death in 1599. Following his death, his niece Elizabeth and her husband Sir John Jephson inherited the house, with their family remaining in Mallow for almost 400 years. It was placed under siege by Richard Butler, Lord Mountgarret, in 1642 during the Irish Confederate Wars and did not fall. It was captured in 1645 by James Tuchet, Lord Castlehaven. The house was badly damaged by fire during the Williamite War and subsequently abandoned by the Jephsons. The Jephsons built the new mansion house on the site of the older castle’s stable block.
Ightermurragh Castle was built by Edmund Supple. On the second storey, a lintel over the fireplace has an inscription in Latin which includes the names Edward Supple and his wife Margaret FitzGerald, with the construction date of 1642. The castle was captured and burned down soon after completion. It was restored in the mid-18th century but is now in a ruinous state.
Lisgriffin Castle (Irish for “Griffin’s Fort) was built by General Garret Barry around 1605 to 1610. He served in the Eighty Years’ War and the Irish Confederate Wars. Garret’s nephew, Redmond Barry inherited the castle around 1631. The castle was seized before the Rebellion of 1641 and was in the care of Sir John Philip Percival but it was again in Redmond Berry’s possession by 1643. In 1657 Lisgriffin Castle became the property of the Grove family of Cahirduggan. It was taken, once again, from Redmond Barry due to his participation in the Rebellion. By 1814, the castle was reportedly in ruins.
In 1911, Colonel Grove-White got permission to remove a fine limestone mantelpiece from the top floor of Lisgriffin Castle and put it in his home. All that remains visible of this castle today is the west wall. The ruins stand about 3 ½ miles (5.6 km) west of the village of Buttevant.