comics-and-graphic-novels

😻 Molly finally makes art, yay 😻

P.S. WE ADDED A KITTEN CURSOR TO OUR TUMBLR PAGE.

P.P.S. Also added an archive page, which is obviously more useful to you guys than a stupid cat cursor.

5

Say, remember that character displayed prominently in my big group drawing from April? He’s from @amperethecomicseries​ and my copy of volume one just arrived today!  I can tell you proudly and without fail that artist/author @retromissile​ delivered; every page of this sci-fi/fantasy graphic novel is jaw-droppingly gorgeous with super clean lines and vibrant colors.

(thanks for the especially cool sketch on the inside page! ;D)

DESTINY, NY
Chapter One, Page 6
WRITER: Pat Shand @patshand
ARTIST: Manuel Preitano
LETTERER: Jim Campbell
Created by Shand & Preitano

Read Pages 1 - 5 here.

Page Seven coming this Friday at 12PM!

DESTINY, NY updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. The entire 22-page Chapter One will be free online, leading up to our Kickstarter in October for a full-length graphic novel.

Read more about Destiny, NY here.

The Shadow Hero: giving an origin story to comics' first Asian-American superhero #2yrsago

Gene Luen Yang has made comics history with his graphic novels about race and identity, now, with Sonny Liew, he goes back in time to reinvent the first Asian superhero in the history of comics. Cory Doctorow reviews The Shadow Hero and presents an exclusive excerpt.

Back in October 2013, I posted a video in which comics creator Gene Luen Yang introduced his next project, The Shadow Hero, a graphic novel that invents an origin story for The Green Turtle, the first-ever Asian-American superhero who featured in a short-lived, five-issue series in 1944.

The Shadow Hero is out in stores today, and it’s a provocative, exciting adventure that lives up to the promise of a collaboration between Yang (whose work, like the award-winningAmerican Born Chinese, has been fearless in its willingness to engage with tough issues of race) and illustrator Sonny Liew, whose work I came to love through Malinky Robot.

Yang and Liew’s backstory for the Green Turtle is a golden-age comics whiz-bang adventure story that unflinchingly faces the widespread racism against Asian-Americans that rose to a fever pitch in WWII, while skewering modern stereotypes of Tiger Mothers and nose-to-grindstone Chinese kids. It walks a fine line between slapstick and commentary, to great effect – reminiscent of the work of Will Eisner or Harvey Kurtzman in its blending of broad humor and sly digs.

At the same time, Shadow Hero is a terrific story, full of the kinds of timeless dilemmas about responsibility, power, and duty that makes the superhero motif so enduring.

The book ends with a powerful essay by Yang in which he discusses his motives for writing the book, and then a reprint of one of the original Green Turtle comics from its 1944 run.

The Shadow Hero

http://boingboing.net/2014/07/15/the-shadow-hero-giving-an-ori.html

Tagged!

Tagged by @goldfishlover73 

  • FAVOURITE FANDOM →I’m kind of in the comic book fandom now. Not online, but I love graphic novels and talk about it with my friends irl. (IMAGE FOR LIFE)
  • LANGUAGES YOU SPEAK → English, some Japanese, Italian, Cantonese, and a bit of ASL and Spanish.
  • FAVORITE FILM OF 2015 → I only saw Mad Max: Fury Road in theatres because of how hectic 2015 was.
  • LAST ARTICLE YOU READ“Zika Images Show ‘Worst Brain Infections That Doctors Will Ever See'”
  • SHUFFLE YOUR MUSIC LIBRARY AND PUT YOUR FIRST THREE SONGS HERE → Mozart: Symphony #35 In D, K 285, “Haffner” - 4. Presto; When The Sun Went Down by The Arctic Monkeys; and Veridis Quo by Daft Punk
  • LAST THING YOU BOUGHT ONLINE → Textbook for one of my teaching classes. Not very exciting.
  • ANY PHOBIAS OR FEARS? → Spiders, falling, and the panopticon.
  • HOW WOULD YOUR FRIENDS DESCRIBE YOU? → Quiet, smart, and intense.
  • HOW WOULD YOUR ENEMIES DESCRIBE YOU → I don’t think I have any enemies, but I hope they think of me as a scary-ass bitch. Fear me, motherfuckers.
  • WHO WOULD YOU TAKE A BULLET FOR? → My mom and my best friend, Sean.
  • IF YOU HAD MONEY TO SPARE WHAT WOULD YOU BUY FIRST? → What is our reference point for “spare” money? If we’re talking middle class concepts of extra money, I’d probably put it into a fund for traveling. If our reference point is someone ultra-wealthy, IMMA GET ME A HOUSE WITH A POOL.

Tagging: @fl-rocket, @bokekkomi, @therentyoupay, and @firehydrant–synonymous

theguardian.com
Next Iron Man will be a black woman, reveals Marvel
Comic writer Brian Michael Bendis reveals Tony Stark is set to be succeeded by 15-year-old genius Riri Williams when current comic-book series draws to close
By Sian Cain

So, first we get FemThor. It bombs. HARD.

After that comes Falcon as Captain America. And again, it flops.

Then we get Nazi Captain America. Oh, but it was all fake, so that makes it OK for them to have taken a big, seaming, greasy shit on the graves of Jack Kirby and Joe Simon.

And now…. this.

Seriously, Marvel. Stop. We get it, you’re “progressive”. Just leave the established heroes alone and MAKE FUCKING NEW ONES.

theguardian.com
'There's nothing like it in comics' … how Love and Rockets broke the rules
It’s the groundbreaking comic whose characters have aged along with its readers – and Neil Gaiman is a huge fan

“I was an enormous fan,” says Neil Gaiman, the multi-award-winning author and graphic novelist. “I still am. I don’t really understand why the material of Love and Rockets isn’t widely regarded as one of the finest pieces of fiction of the last 35 years. Because it is.”

“I grew up on a very, very remote farm in an incredibly white part of the Oregon coast,” remembers comic writer Gail Simone. “As a kid, the first issue of Love and Rockets I saw astonished me not just with its visual and storytelling mastery, but with the worlds it focused on – characters of every shape and background, from women selling babosas barefooted to sexy, smart mechanic girlfriends. I’d never experienced anything like it, and that’s because there is nothing else like it.”

theguardian.com
Batman confronts police racism in latest comic book
New issue wades into the conversations about race, poverty and gentrification roiling the US, responding to a new political consciousness among fans
By Spencer Ackerman

New issue wades into the conversations about race, poverty and gentrification roiling the US, responding to a new political consciousness among fansBatman patrols the rooftops. But not until Wednesday did the Dark Knight find himself investigating a black teenager in a hoodie shot dead by a frightened white police officer, let alone wondering about his own indirect role in the boy’s death.

The latest issue of DC Comics’ flagship Batman series throws itself headfirst into the agonizing conversations roiling America more than a year after Ferguson officer Darren Wilson killed 18-year old Michael Brown. The globally iconic superhero confronts racialized police brutality and its intersection with urban poverty and gentrification – problems Batman comes to realize he exacerbates in his secret identity as billionaire industrialist Bruce Wayne.

Comics critics say they are hard pressed to remember Batman ever addressing institutional racism and its socio-economic dimensions as bluntly as this in the character’s 75-year history. While police corruption has long been a feature of Gotham – even showing up on the eponymous Fox TV adaptation about to enter its second season – it it is rarely shown to disproportionately impact black people.

Yet Batman #44, a flashback story, begins with the blunt image of a dead black boy, his body left “for the crows”, as the narration reads, resonant of Michael Brown in Ferguson. He wears a hooded sweatshirt, as did Trayvon Martin before George Zimmerman killed the 17-year old. What begins as A Simple Case – the title of the issue – becomes a meditation on the meaning of a rich, white vigilante who attempts to solve intractable urban problems by beating up bad guys.

3

Muhammad Ali (2016)  //   Dark Horse Comics

“Published for the first time in English, this critically acclaimed French graphic novel celebrates the life of the glorious athlete who metamorphosed from the young boxer Cassius Clay to the legendary three-time heavyweight champion, activist, and provocateur Muhammad Ali, and focuses on key figures in the civil rights movement. “

Story: Sybille Titeux, art: Amazing Ameziane

Order it here


[ Follow SuperheroesInColor on facebook / instagram / twitter / tumblr ]

10

GET TO KNOW AN IGNATZ NOMINEE

Beyond: The Queer Sci-Fi and Fantasy Comic Anthology edited by Sfé R. Monster @sfemonster and Taneka Stotts (nominee for outstanding anthology or collection)

Winner of of the 2016 Lambda Literary Award for best anthology, this collection includes 20 stories by variety of creators exploring speculative worlds from a LGBTQ perspective.  It is highly intelligent and often poignant, a must-read for all fans of genre fiction. (Pictured contributors- Shing Yin Khor @sawdustbear, Reed Black @reedicule, Gabby Reed, Rachel Dukes @mixtapecomics, Taneka Stotts, Christianne Goudreau @cedreau, Niki Smith @niki-smith, Blue Delliquanti @bluedelliquanti, Jon Cairns @joncairns, Ted Adrien Closson @vinegartom, Wm Brian MacLean).

For fans of Saga, Wet Moon, Runaways, The 100, Stardust

Check out Beyond and other Ignatz nominees on comiXology!

Check out graphic novels on comiXology!

Forbidden Brides Of The Faceless Slaves In The Secret House Of The Night Of Dread Desire HC by Shane Oakley

Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire HC
Neil Gaiman (W), Shane Oakley (A/C/Cover), and Nick Filardi ©
On sale Jan 25
FC, 48 pages
$17.99
HC, 7" x 10"
A celebrated send-up of gothic literature, beautifully adapted into a dark, brooding, and oddly comical graphic novel. Somewhere in the night, a raven caws, an author’s pen scratches, and thunder claps. The author wants to write nonfiction: stories about frail women in white nightgowns, mysterious bumps in the night, and the undead rising to collect old debts. But he keeps getting interrupted by the everyday annoyances of talking ravens, duels to the death, and his sinister butler.
• Shane Oakley beautifully illustrates New York Times best-selling author Neil Gaiman’s satirical tale.
“It’s about what fantasy is, and why we write it, and what it would mean to write fantasy if you lived in a Gothic universe.” – Neil Gaiman