At the northern end of the colonnaded street stands a beautiful nymphaeum, called the fountain of Hadrian, because of the date of its of construction. This name also helps to distinguish this fountain from the other one, situated on the southern part of Perge. Hadrian’s nymphaeum is supported by the southern slope of the Acropolis hill and marks the starting point of a canal that distributed the water to various districts of the city.
The Hadrian’s nymphaeum was erected on a U-shaped plan and its base has the dimensions of 21 by 9 meters. This two-storied building was once also used as a gateway to the acropolis. There were two entrances to the structure and between them was a decorative façade with a statue of Cestros - the god of Kaistros river.
The Frontinus Gate was the monumental entrance to the Roman city of Hierapolis (western Turkey). It is flanked by two round towers and dates to 84 or 86 CE on the basis of a dedication to Domitian on the gate’s façade. It was originally two stories high. The gate led into a colonnaded street known asFrontinus Street which was the centre of the city during Roman times.
Frontinus Street was the main street that ran through the inner part of the city. It was 14m wide, paved, and equipped with a sidewalk. At the center runs a large drain covered by monolithic slabs. The street opens up along the two sides. Lining the streets are houses, deposits and shops, unified by a travertine Doric façade. The street is, for its architectural characteristics, organically conceived in one unitary project with the Gate of Frontinus that constitutes the monumental entrance of the Roman City. The Gate has three fornixes, was constructed of squared travertine blocks and was flanked by two circular towers. A monumental inscription in marble on the façade was dedicated by the proconsul of Asia, Sextus Julius Frontinus,to the Emperor Domitian allowed the construction of the Gate and the street to be dated back to the end of the 1st century CE.
The arch is at the east end of the principal colonnaded street, and has been designated as the East Arch, the other faces north upon the south side of the same street near, the centre of the city, and may be called the Central Arch . Of the two arches in bosra, the East Arch is the smaller, and appears to be the elder. Both are among the better preserved of the monuments of Bosra. This arch is one having a single, broad, high opening, in form of a tunnel vault, through its minor axis, and two narrow, low, tunnel vaults piercing the masonry on either side of the main opening, through the major axis of the structure, at right angles to the main arch.
New York. Newly Ravaged Colonnade Row, Lafayette Street, between Astor Place and 4th Street, 1911.
These Survivors are New York in a nutshell- built by Astors for the wealthy and fashionable of marble dug at Sing SIng by forced labor, then left to rot as fashions changed and nearly destroyed by a juggernaut of commerce. Originally 9 houses were built in 1832, of 26 rooms each on land bought by John Jacob Astor nearly 30 years before. Astor named his new project Lagrange Terrace after the home of the Marquis de Lafayette, and the the street he added up the block (now Astor Place) he named Lafayette Place in honor of The Revolutionary hero’s American Tour in 1824. In the photo, 5 of the houses have been torn down for the not yet constructed Wannamaker warehouse. Residents included grandson John Jacob III, Cornelius Vanderbilt, The wife of President Tyler- Julia Gardiner, and Warren Delano- grandfather of President Franklin Roosevelt.