cold war: atomic weapons

Coat of Arms of Zheleznogorsk, Krasnoyarsk Krai, Russia

Zheleznogorsk is a closed town with a developed nuclear industry. In modern Russia, there are currently 44 publicly acknowledged closed cities, which are officially known as “closed administrative-territorial formations”. Some are administered by the Russian Ministry of Defense, with the rest being administered by Roscosmos State Corporation for Space Activities and Rosatom State Atomic Energy Corporation.