CB&Q 9900 Pioneer Zephyr by Chuck Zeiler Via Flickr: Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad 9900 Pioneer Zephyr at Omaha, Nebraska on an unknown day in March 1960, Kodachrome by Dick Rumbolz, Chuck Zeiler collection. Number 9900 made its last run on March 20, 1960 from Lincoln to Galesburg, then was overhauled at Aurora and towed to Chicago, donated to the Museum of Science and Industry on May 26, 1960. Since its construction in 1934, it had traveled 3,222,898 miles.
CB&Q Zephyr 9900 by Chuck Zeiler Via Flickr: Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad 9900 at Weston, New Jersey on April 17, 1934, photograph by the Budd Company, Chuck Zeiler collection. Number 9900 was released from the Budd’s Philadelphia plant on April 10, 1934 and began a nationwide tour. It is seen here on a run out of New York City on the Reading at Weston.
CB&Q 9900 by Chuck Zeiler Via Flickr: Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad 9900 at West Quincy, Missouri on June 24, 1957, photograph by G. E. Lloyd, print by Gordon C. Bassett, Chuck Zeiler collection. There appears to be a baggage car coupled to the rear.
CB&Q Pioneer Zephyr 9900 by Chuck Zeiler Via Flickr: Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad Pioneer Zephyr 9900 at Lincoln, Nebraska on an unknown day in July, 1959, Kodachrome by Dick Rumbolz, Chuck Zeiler collection. Built April 7, 1934 ( ordered June 17, 1933 ) by Budd (c/n 509), powered by an EMC Winton eight-cylinder Model 201A diesel (original block was s/n 4510, now at the Smithsonian, replaced around 1937 with block s/n 4686) , it is seen here in one of its many configurations during its service life. Originally a three car train ( power unit, baggage/coach, coach/observation ) it was re-equipped in late-1934 by adding chair car 525, re-equipped again in 1937 with car 500 (40 chair seats and a buffet/pantry/kitchen) replacing 525. Another modification was to move the air horns from behind the intake grills, which were directed downward, to the annoyance of the engine crew) to the roof top. Between 1946-48, the Zephyr ( officially re-named the Pioneer Zephyr on November 11, 1936 ) acquired the Mars Light above the headlight. It was regularly assigned to Omaha-Kansas City routes until retired in 1960 and donated to Chicago’s Museum of Science and Industry. Between 1994-1998, the Pioneer Zephyr was cosmetically restored to as-built appearance and the Mars Light was removed. The four yellow hash marks seen below the cab window are service marks (one hash mark for each five years of service) applied by the Burlington during the late-1940’s. It will shortly receive a fifth hash mark just before retirement.
CB&Q Pioneer Zephyr 9900 by Chuck Zeiler Via Flickr: Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad Pioneer Zephyr 9900 at Lincoln, Nebraska on an unknown day in March 1960, Kodachrome by Dick Rumbolz, Chuck Zeiler collection.
CB&Q 9900 by Chuck Zeiler Via Flickr: Chicago Burlington & Quincy railroad 9900 at Lincoln, Nebraska on April 10, 1944, photograph by unknown photographer, Chuck Zeiler collection. This was the tenth birthday for the Pioneer Zephyr, and it will cut its own cake with a large knife mounted by the cab door. Also seen is the newly-delivered FT Number 102.
“Jesse Bussey, originally from Greene County, Pennsylvania, bought the land for the town of Bussey in 1867. He laid out the town of Bussey on the line of the Albia, Knoxville and Des Moines Railroad in 1875, the same year the line was acquired by the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad. Mr Bussey went into the lumber and grain business there. By 1880, the population was close to 100, with four general merchandise stores and one drug store. The town was incorporated in 1895. There were some problems with the initial incorporation, so a second vote was held in 1899, after which James Bussey was elected as the first mayor.”
Caption: “To celebrate the centennial of the opening of its Chicago to Aurora, Illinois line, the Chicago, Burlington, & Quincy very temporarily painted its queen of fan trips, Northern 5632, gold. The scene here is a light-engine positioning move in Aurora on May 24, 1964.”