Ross Castle is located outside the town of Kilarney on the banks of Lough Leane. It is a 15th century tower house and keep built by one of the O'Donoghue Ross chieftains but it is better known for its association with the Brownes of Killarney, who owned the castle more recently. The castle was amongst the last in Munster to surrender to Oliver Cromwell’s Roundheads during the Irish Confederate Wars and was only taken when artillery was brought by boat via the River Laune.
Mallow Castle is a 33-acre site composed of gardens and parkland on which three buildings sit: the remains of a 16th-century fortified house (pictured above), a 19th-century mansion to the north, and the ruins of a 13th-century castle to the east. The fortified house is a long rectangular three-storey building, with two polygonal towers on the north-west and south-west corners. It is early Jacobean in style, featuring high gables, stepped battlements, and mullioned windows. The wings of the house project from the center of the south and north walls, with the entrance in the north wing. The design of the house was to provide a field of fire around it entirely.
The 16th-century fortified house is believed to have been built by Sir Thomas Norreys before his death in 1599. Following his death, his niece Elizabeth and her husband Sir John Jephson inherited the house, with their family remaining in Mallow for almost 400 years. It was placed under siege by Richard Butler, Lord Mountgarret, in 1642 during the Irish Confederate Wars and did not fall. It was captured in 1645 by James Tuchet, Lord Castlehaven. The house was badly damaged by fire during the Williamite War and subsequently abandoned by the Jephsons. The Jephsons built the new mansion house on the site of the older castle’s stable block.
Tourin Castle, Cappoquin, County Waterford, Ireland
Tourin Castle probably dates to the early 17th century. It’s a four story tower house and it’s first recorded occupant was Edward Gratrix, a tenant of the owner, Edmund Roche. The castle was eventually sold to the Nettles family in 1780.