Modes: The Basics

The mode of your sign determines the flow and direction of your energy; how you start and finish projects, if you try new things, if you hold on to your ideals or change easily. The three modes are Cardinal, Fixed, and Mutable, and are determined by the seasons and your sun sign/dominant sign. 

Cardinal Signs: Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn

Traits: energetic, dynamic, unafraid to try new things, powerful and motivated

These are the initiators of the zodiac. These signs occur at the beginning of each season, and represent the force and power of change. They love to start new projects, but often have trouble finishing them. They are motivated, but sometimes lack the planning to put their ideas in action. These signs are always “first”: Aries is the first sign of the twelve, always the first to act; Cancer represents Motherhood, the first nurturing we experience; Libra represents the beginnings of communication and relationships; Capricorn is the “first” to be successful, being ambitious and driven.

Fixed Signs: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius

Traits: persistent, stable, resistant to chance, determined, reliable, steady

These signs occur in the middle of each season, and represent the driving force that carries the season far. They are driven, determined, and calculating, and slowly get the job done their own way. All of the Fixed signs are known for being stubborn and set into their ways, and they all have a bit of a my-way-or-the-highway complex: Taurus is particularly known for being hardheaded, reliable, and inflexible; Leo is authoritarian, loyal, and decisive about their ideals; Scorpio is powerful, determined, controlling, and altogether unstoppable when they want something; Aquarius is logical and calculating when it comes to their goals, and can be quite stubborn.

Mutable Signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces

Traits: flexible, adaptable, impressionable, scattered, unsettled

These signs are placed at the end of each season, and they represent the power to put an end to things in order to initiate the next phase of life. They are excellent multitaskers and love to start many projects at once. They have less trouble “letting go” than Cardinal and Fixed signs; they very much live in the moment. Gemini is flexible and able to absorb lots of information at once, making them fast-paced and extremely intelligent; Virgo is excellent at reading a situation and knowing how to best solve problems; Sagittarius sees the “big picture” and holds the power to inspire and see the deeper meaning in everything; Pisces is extremely sensitive to the emotions of others, making them almost psychic, as well as being the biggest dreamer of the zodiac. 

Note: Your mode is not always determined by your sun sign, especially if your sun sign is not your dominant sign. Your dominant sign always determines your dominant mode. This makes it possible to be, for example, a stubborn, inflexible Pisces sun, because the Pisces sun has a dominant Fixed sign.
Nationals Pick Up Papelbon from Phils
Hellbent on making a playoff run this season, has Washington made a costly mistake? The Washington Nationals have agreed to trade terms with the Philadelphia Phillies for closer Jonathan Papelbon. In return for Papelbon, the Phillies are receiving Double-A pitcher Nick Pivetta and are paying all but the veteran’s minimum of $507,000 of Papelbon’s deal for this year. Papelbon, who the Phillies signed to a 4-year, $50 contract to close for them after the Boston Red Sox let him walk after the 2011 season, has been incredibly vocal in his desire to be shipped to a contender for this season.