cancellara fabian


Congratulations to Fabian Cancellara closing his illustrious Olympic Games career with an emotional victory in the men’s time trial. Cancellara put in a storming ride in Rio to beat pre-race favourites Tom Dumoulin (Netherland) and Chris Froome (Great Britain) with his time of 1:12:15.


Gallery: The world champ delivers in Wevelgem

Slovakia’s Peter Sagan prevailed in a four-man sprint to claim victory in Sunday’s Gent-Wevelgem cobbled classic in Belgium, but the race was overshadowed by a serious crash involving Belgian rider Antoine Demoitie.

Sagan, who was second at Friday’s E3 Harelbeke, held off Fabian Cancellara, Vyacheslav Kuznetsov and Sep Vanmarcke to record his second Gent-Wevelgem triumph after winning the 2013 edition. “I’m very happy that I’ve won finally in this (rainbow) jersey,” said Sagan, after earning his first win as world champion.

1. Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team

2. Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
3. Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Team Katusha
4. Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek-Segafredo
5. Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ