c.r.e.a.m. = cash rules everything around me


On this day in music history: November 9, 1993 - “Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)”, the debut album by the Wu-Tang Clan is released. Produced by RZA, it is recorded at Firehouse Studios in New York City from Late 1992 - Mid 1993. Formed in the New York City borough of Staten Island in 1992, the group is put together by RZA (birth name Robert Diggs) and GZA (birth name Gary Grice), after both have recorded unsuccessful solo efforts (as Prince Rakeem and The Genius respectively) for Tommy Boy and Cold Chillin’ Records. The nine member group also features Method Man (Clifford Smith), Ol’ Dirty Bastard (Russell Jones), Raekwon (Corey Woods), Ghostface Killah (Dennis Coles), Inspectah Deck (Jason Hunter), U-God (Lamont Hawkins), and Masta Killa (born Elgin Turner name changed to Jamal Arief). The group record and release the single “Protect Ya Neck” on their own Wu-Tang Records label before signing with Steve Rifkind’s Loud Records (distributed by RCA/BMG). United by their mutual love of martial arts movies, their debut album’s title is inspired by the title of the kung fu film “The 36th Chamber Of Shaolin”, and that the nine members “each having four chambers of the heart”, equaling (9 x 4 = ) 36. The finished album is unlike anything that has come before it, marking the resurgence of East Coast Rap in popularity and influence, after West Coast Rap has dominated the genre for much of the past several years. Though raw and underground in its sound, it breaks through to a mainstream audience to become a commercial success. It spins off four singles including “C.R.E.A.M. (Cash Rules Everything Around Me)” (#8 Rap, #32 R&B, #60 Pop), “Method Man” (#17 Rap, #40 R&B, #69 Pop), and “Can It All Be So Simple” (#24 Rap, #82 R&B, #116 Pop Bubbling Under). Issued on vinyl on a limited basis in 1993, it is reissued in 2000 by both Loud Records and Music On Vinyl. A limited edition pressing on yellow and black swirled vinyl is issued as an exclusive through Newbury Comics in 2014. The album is also released as a limited edition box set, pressed on six 7" vinyl discs with a 56 page book by Get On Down Records in 2016. The set also comes with a bonus 7" featuring a remix of “Protect Ya Neck”. “Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)” peaks at number eight on the Billboard R&B album chart, number forty one on the Top 200, and is certified Platinum in the US by the RIAA.


anime: The Boondocks

music: Wu-Tang Clan - C.R.E.A.M. (Cash Rules Everything Around Me)


anime: Samurai Champloo

music: Wu-tang Clan - C.R.E.A.M. (Cash Rules Everything Around Me)

tag yourself im louis wearing the power, lies, corruption, chaos, money talks C.R.E.A.M. (cash rules everything around me) pay th cost shirt for AGT promo