On this day in music history: June 28, 1974 - “Caribou”, the eighth studio album by Elton John is released. Produced by Gus Dudgeon, it is recorded at the Caribou Ranch in Nederland, CO and Brother Studios in Santa Monica, CA in January 1974. Completed in just nine days prior to starting a tour of Japan, it features some of John’s best known and most performed material. Producer Gus Dudgeon completes Elton’s background vocals on several songs, when the artist isn’t available to sing them himself. The album features additional musical support from guest musicians such as The Tower Of Power Horns, Dusty Springfield, Toni Tennille, and Billy Hinsche. The album spins off the top five hits “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me” (#2 Pop) (featuring Beach Boys Carl Wilson and Bruce Johnston on background vocals) and “The Bitch Is Back” (#4 Pop). In 1995, an expanded CD reissue is released including four tracks recorded during the sessions including his cover of “Pinball Wizard” (from the film version of The Who’s “Tommy”), “Sick City” (the non-LP B-side of “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me”), and the holiday single “Step Into Christmas”. Elton scores a number pop single with “Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me” in 1992, re-recording it as a live duet with George Michael. The profits raised from the sales of the second version are donated to the Elton John AIDS Foundation. “Caribou” spends four weeks at number one on the Billboard Top 200, and is certified 2x Platinum in the US by the RIAA.

The Beach Boys
Smiley Smile
1967 Brother Records
01. Heroes and Villains
02. Vegetables
03. Fall Breaks and Back to Winter
04. She’s Goin’ Bald
05. Little Pad
06. Good Vibrations
07. With Me Tonight
08. Wind Chimes
09. Gettin’ Hungry
10. Wonderful
11. Whistle In

  • Al Jardine
  • Bruce Johnston
  • Mike Love
  • Brian WIlson
  • Carl Wilson
  • Dennis Wilson

*Blog Archive