Belsay Castle, Northumberland, England
The main structure of the castle, a substantial three story rectangular pele tower with rounded turrets and battlements was constructed about 1370, and was the home of the Middleton family. In 1614 Thomas Middleton built a new manor house attached to the tower. A west wing was added in 1711 but was later largely demolished in 1872 by Sir Arthur Middleton when the remainder of the house was considerably altered. The castle was abandoned as a residence by the family in the early 19th century when Sir Charles Monck built Belsay Hall close by.