beats audio

Today’s Best Tips on Music Production

10 essential tips… 20 mistakes… 30 production secrets and so on, such lists seem to be really popular these days. Although many of them are just full of crap. Especially forget about the longer checklists – even if you could find some good advices there, most tips are just nonsense, like “don’t mix bass with headphones”.

Anyway, to you aspiring producer, here’s a few things I think you should care about:

  • Limiting yourself can help drive creativity. Don’t use all of your instrumental arsenal at once, don’t try to cover all music styles in one track.
  • Listen to different styles of music and try to identify what you like and what you dislike.
  • Analyze your favorite artists’ work in great detail. Theorize with both feet on the ground.
  • Go ahead and copy other artists, but don’t settle there – tweak and add your own style and flavor.
  • Cover, remix and remake your favorite tracks, it’s a good and fun way to learn about music.
  • Use reference tracks, compare your shit to others, but don’t get paralyzed when your track doesn’t bang as loud as them.
  • Learn about synthesis and learn how to sound design different kind of instruments, e.g. strings, plucks, percussion (make synthetic drums using waveforms, a noise generator, filters, envelopes and such).
  • Check your music productions on several systems; from high-end studio monitor speakers to iPhone earbuds.
  • Sleep on it. Let your track mature over night and return to it with fresh ears.
  • Go hardware, get tactile if you are growing tired of a software-based environment. To actually play an instrument or to turn a real knob is really something else.
  • Get inspiration from collaborations with other artists. Just reach out to people you admire – this is globalization, this is the time of teh internetz.
  • Try to keep passionate about creating music, but don’t be afraid to make some demands of yourself, just to push things forward.
Our Beating Hearts
  • Our Beating Hearts
  • Ollie Martin
  • Like A Drum series

Is this all a dream, or have I woken up?

I swear I’ve seen him, that’d be just my luck.
Am I letting him in, have I dug myself in much too deep?

I’ll tell you mine, if you tell me yours next
We’ve got our secrets, and I try to respect
your will to keep silent and make me feel so goddamn stressed

We sleep in these dorm rooms and wonder all day
Adding ‘man’ to a phrase makes it negative gay
But that means jacksquat since I crave his embrace
Oh god, I just realized where I have seen his face.

I’m always alone, I’m used to it all
So when I met him, I was shocked by the fall
And how quickly I managed to realize that I liked his ass

He has some friends, he hardly even knows
It was them who had trapped us under the mistletoe
We’ve stood in the cold air, our fires so different and low.

We sleep in these dorm rooms and wonder all day
At night I’m with him, to keep his nightmares at bay
And I know I can’t tell him since he’s my best friend
about how I fell for him, I can’t let this end…. I can’t let this end.

I’ll tell you mine, if you tell me yours first
We’ve got our secrets, and I know it must hurt
But seeing you this way, so scared and alone, I’ll make it all stop.

We sleep in these dorm rooms and wonder all day
We hope that the other keeps their promise to stay
Always with each other sounds pretty damn rad
Forever together doesn’t sound half bad.

My heart beats like a drum x4

Original song titled “Swing Life Away” by Rise Against. Art used as album art belongs to johannathemad. Fanfic series belongs to ownly-lownly. Rewrite of the lyrics belongs to me.

I’m kinda sick and using a lower voice was a bit hard, so I sound really crappy omfg I’m sorry.

  • ???
  • Derpin' BIGBANG

Introducing YG’s new subunit: Derpin’ BIGBANG! Created by Taeyang, the subunit, composed of all the members sans TOP, aims to make funny renditions of their own songs. The group has performed several times and have recently decided to make an album “just because”.

Pending tracklist:

1. Doom Dada (featuring squeakin’ Daesung) - G-Dragon
2. Crooked (nasally, incoherent Japaorean?? ver.) - Taeyang
3. Ringa Linga (featuring screaming GDae) - Taeyang
4. Let’s Talk About Love (instrumental) (featuring cursing and displeased Seungri) - GDYBDae

According to YG, the group is slated to debut February 37th of next year.