basfords

Coloring Books For Grown-Ups

You loved coloring when you were a kid, and there’s no reason you shouldn’t continue exercising that love well into adulthood, for purposes of fun, self-expression, and de-stressing. Limber up those fingers!

3

We’ve learned about a secret some of you have — a secret that involves crayons, markers and colored pencils. Last week, we asked our Facebook followers to tell us if they were an adult who likes to color, and we received hundreds of responses saying, “yes,” and, “I thought I was alone.”

Well, you’re not alone. In fact, there are enough of you out there to have made sellout successes out of not one, but two grown-up coloring books by illustrator Johanna Basford. Her first book, 2013’s Secret Garden, sold nearly 1.5 million copies worldwide. Her latest, Enchanted Forest, came out in February.

Artist Goes Outside The Lines With Coloring Books For Grown-Ups

Photo Credit: Sam Brill/Courtesy of Laurence King Publishing

Coloring Books For Grown-Ups: You loved coloring when you were a kid, and there’s no reason you shouldn’t continue exercising that love well into adulthood, for purposes of fun, self-expression, and de-stressing. Limber up those fingers!

And you can enter to win all of these beautiful books right over here!

Peruse all of our holiday lists here!

I Love My Hair: A Coloring Book of Braids, Coils, and Doodle Dos by Andrea Pippins

For fans of Johanna Basford’s Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest comes a hip, gorgeous doodle coloring book about all things hair. Unlike other adult coloring books, which depict nature scenes and cityscapes, this title celebrates strong, confident women with a passion for style, design, and fashion.  [book link]

Why Adults Are Buying Coloring Books (For Themselves)

“If someone saw you coloring in one of my books, they wouldn’t give you a weird look, because it’s the same kind of artwork you would see on a champagne bottle,” illustrator Johanna Basford told me. “The artwork itself is sophisticated––not like a car or a bunny with a bow in its hair.”

Read more from Adrienne Raphel on newyorker.com.

Image via Passion for Pencils / Youtube.com

4

Last week, All Things Considered talked to illustrator Johanna Basford about her grown-up coloring books and ever since I’ve wanted one (or two) of my very own. I can almost hear those drawings calling my name – and they sound just like Susan Stamberg. Now if only I still had that 50 plus piece colored pencil set from when I was 7 …

–Nicole

Artist Goes Outside The Lines With Coloring Books For Grown-Ups