bartholdy

stuff that happened in german history on the 9th of november

there’s quite a lot actually that happened today:

  • Nov 9, 1313: Battle of Gammelsdorf - Louis IV defeats his cousin Frederick the Fair
  • Nov 9, 1848: execution of Robert Blum (a german politician) - it’s said to mark the beginning of the end of the March Revolution in 1848/49
  • Nov 9, 1914: Sinking of the SMS Emden
  • Nov 9, 1918: German Revolution [1918/19] in Berlin
  • Nov 9, 1923: Munich Putsch
  • Nov 9, 1925: Hitler imposes the formation of the Schutzstaffel (SS)
  • Nov 9, 1936: National Socialists remove the memorial of composer Felix Mendelssohn  Bartholdy  
  • Nov 9, 1938: Pogrom Night
  • Nov 9, 1939: Abduction of two british officiers from the Secret Intelligence Service by the SS in Venio, Netherlands
  • Nov 9, 1948: Berlin Blockade - mayor Ernst Reuter delivers a speech
  • Nov 9, 1955: Federal Contitutional Court decision: all Austrians who have acquired german citizenship through annexation in 1938, automatically lost it after Austria became sovereign again
  • Nov 9, 1967: Students show a banner (”Unter den Talaren – Muff von 1000 Jahren”) and it becomes one of the main symbols of the Movement of 1968 (the German Student  Movement)
  • Nov 9, 1969: the radical left-winged organization “Tupamaros West-Berlin” hides a bomb in the jewish community house in Berlin. It never exploded though.
  • Nov 9, 1974: RAF-member Holger Meins dies after 58 days of hunger striking
  • Nov 9, 1989: Fall of the Berlin Wall
4

Jean-Léon Gérôme (1824-1904) The Albanian Paintings of the French Orientalist Jean-Léon Gérôme

The French painter Jean-Léon Gérôme (1824-1904) was born in Vesoul and studied in Paris under Paul Delaroche (1797-1856). In 1856, he journeyed to Egypt with his friend, the sculptor Auguste Bartholdi (1834-1904) – who was later to design the Statue of Liberty in New York – and was captivated by the colours and scents of the Orient. This visit was decisive for Gérôme’s subsequent success as an Orientalist painter, and the Albanians played a major role in it. Egypt, which like Albania was part of the Ottoman Empire at the time, was under the rule of the Albanian dynasty founded by Mehmed Ali Pasha (1769-1849), and a sizeable Albanian colony, including many janissary troops, had settled on the banks of the Nile. Gérôme was fascinated by their swagger, the flash of their weapons and their brilliant costumes, in particular by the swirl of their characteristic white Albanian fustanellas. He continued to paint Albanian figures for years thereafter. The following is a selection of some of Léon Gérôme’s Albanian paintings. For further information, the reader may consult Luan Rama’s book Les Albanais de Léon Gérôme / Shqiptarët e Léon Gérôme (Tirana 2016).

youtube

Maria Bartholdi from Magic the Amateuring meets WotC’s April Glass in Episode 1 of Access Magic: Amonkhet, for a chat about the Trial of Solidarity!

7

Thanks FOR NOT REBLOGGING my pictures in NSFW (porno/erotic) 18+ and also NOT in Trash/Spams blogs.

FIFTH PART - Colmar / Alsace - France

Biggest park of the city center, the Champ de Mars is a privileged place for walking lined with 193 lindens and the statue Admiral Armand Bruat (French Navy), born in Colmar in 1796, the statue was sculpted by A. Bartholdi, the author of the Statue of the Liberty. 

Nice park to relax, with a pretty carrousel. 

Thank you :-) @iceintheattic, @maruhi

Portrait of Composer Fanny Mendelssohn (1805-1847)

“It must be a sign of talent that I do not give up, though I can get nobody to take an interest in my efforts.”

“If nobody ever offers an opinion or takes the slightest interest in one’s production, one loses not only all pleasure in them, but all power of judging their value.” 

Fanny Mendelssohn, later Fanny [Cäcilie] Mendelssohn Bartholdy and, after her marriage, Fanny Hensel, was a German pianist and composer. She composed over 460 pieces of music. Her compositions include a piano trio and several books of solo piano pieces and songs. A number of her songs were originally published under her brother, Felix Mendelssohn’s, name in his opus 8 and 9 collections. Her piano works are often in the manner of songs, and many carry the name Lied ohne Worte (Song without Words). She also wrote, amongst other works for the piano, a cycle of pieces depicting the months of the year, Das Jahr (“The Year”). The music was written on coloured sheets of paper, and illustrated by her husband Wilhelm Hensel. Each piece was also accompanied by a short poem.

We are kicking off Monday with fantastic news: join us in welcoming acclaimed writer Lidia Yuknavitch to Riverhead Books! Many of you have fallen in love with Lidia’s writing, whether through her works of thrilling fiction like The Book of Joan, or her powerful memoir The Chronology of Water. You may also know her from her powerful TED talk “The Beauty of Being a Misfit.” We’ll be publishing her next two works of fiction. The first of these books, This Is Not a Flag, a revelatory group portrait of marginalized Americans in personal crisis, will be published in the spring of 2019. The second, an epic novel entitled Thrust, traces the stories of four characters in the 19th and 21st centuries in a fictional chronicle of the creation of a colossal female statue designed as a national symbol, inspired by the story of Frédéric Bartholdi and the Statue of Liberty. This weekend we asked Lidia a few of our most burning questions, and this is what she said:

What’s the best thing about being a misfit?

The best thing about being a misfit is our unstoppable ability to reinvent ourselves from seeming nothingness or rubble. We have the ability to shape-shift, to ever-become. We’ve had to, since we didn’t fit in the first place, or because we get continually ejected, or because we feel alive only at the edges of things. That’s not nothing. People could learn things from us: How to endure, how to come apart and reconstitute in the face of despair. No one has gotten anywhere without falling to pieces along the way … and misfits carry this story in our bodies.

 What gives you hope?

Well, when it comes to hope, I’ve stopped looking up. I don’t find it in superheroes or gods, saviors, leaders, or celebrities. What gives me hope happens at ground level—maybe even dirt level. Worms are some of the most hopeful creatures on earth.

What gives me hope is the way people create light even inside brutality. How children survive war and go on. How victims of violence manage to emerge and thrive. What gives me hope is the kind of kinesis created through artistic collaboration. Art gives me hope, as it’s a form of expression that can interrupt and counter the destruction that comes from consumer culture, and the politics of a death-driven culture (anti-planet, anti-existence, anti-love). Love gives me hope—especially a kind of reimagined, radicalized love, one that pulls away from the hubris of the individual and moves toward sustaining the planet and each other and animals and ecosystems. The emerging voices and bodies and art of women, people of color, LGBT people, indigenous people, and so-called “outsiders” (ex-cons, ex-junkies, people with mental health or physical differences, poor people, people outside of economy or academia or most institutions) give me hope—the kind of hope that says maybe, just maybe, the story can finally turn.

What’s your favorite statue?

This question makes me so overly nerdgasm excited I almost can’t answer it. Let me calm down. Okay. It’s a 4-way tie:

The Winged Victory of Samothrace. (I put a lock of my hair at the base of this one.) St. Joan at Nôtre Dame de Paris. (I’ve licked this one.) The Ecstasy of St. Teresa, by Bernini. (I left a tiny poem on this one.) Edvard Eriksen’s The Little Mermaid. (Visiting her—swimming to her—is on my bucket list.) I mean, look at them! Gaaaaaahhhh. There’s one other statue I’m obsessed with, but that’s another story. Ahem.

Who’s a favorite artist of yours who’s not a writer?

Another nerdgasm. Wait … you mean choose one? Joan Mitchell and Louise Bourgeois—although maybe Louise doesn’t count, because she wrote some wonderful little stories to accompany her drawings.

Tell us one amazing thing about swimming.

In water, you go both forward and backward in time, which is to say you leave what we pretend is time and enter something interdimensional, something more like the cosmos. You go back to your breathable amniotic origins, and you go forward toward a weightless recognition with all matter and energy. Maybe it’s like being a star in space. A lifedeath liminality. But maybe I’m just, you know, weird.

 What else should we know that we might not?

I sleep with four small stuffed monkeys. Yes, it gets crowded. Tell no one.

 Cats or dogs? And why?

Well, let me pre-empt the hate first by saying that cats are the slyest, smartest, wiliest, most hilariously passive aggressive creatures on earth. Okay? But dogs, man. Dogs all the way. Who else do you know that would roll around on their backs and bellies in the grass with you? I mean, maybe Walt Whitman, but who else? No one, that’s who. A dog will follow you out to the middle of the ocean if you bring a stick with you. A dog will stick by you if you’re freezing to death in a Game of Thrones episode. A dog will sleep on your grave if you loved them right in life. Who else would do that? Someday we will figure out how to repay them for what they have given us.

Directory of Composers (12th Update 5/25/16)

Follow them all for maximum fun! (Trust me, I follow them all.)

(If composers are a transitional type, they are listed near the end of the first era. If you have a grievance with the info on this list, feel free to bring it up with the author.)

Medieval:

Kassia 805-865 Byzantine @kassia-official

Hildegard von Bingen 1098-1179 German @hildegardvonbingen-official

Guillaume de Machaut 1300-1377 French @guillaumedemachaut-official

Renaissance:

Josquin des Prez 1450/55-1521 Franco-Flemish @josquin-official

Roland de Lassus 1532-1594 Franco-Flemish @delassus-official

John Dowland 1563-1626 English @johndowland-official

Claudio Monteverdi 1567-1643 Italian @claudiomonteverdi-official

Baroque:

Lucrezia Orsina Vizzana 1590-1662 Italian @lucreziaorsinavizzana-official

Barbara Strozzi 1619-1677 Italian @barbarastrozzi-official

Dieterich Buxtehude 1637-1707 Danish-German @buxtehude-official

Johann Pachelbel 1653-1706 German @tacobell-pachelbel-official

Arcangelo Corelli 1653-1713 Italian @arcangelocorelli-official

Henry Purcell 1659-1695 English @henrypurcell-official

Antonio Vivaldi 1678-1741 Italian @antoniovivaldi-official

Georg Philipp Telemann 1681-1767 German @georgphilipptelemann-official

Johann Sebastian Bach 1685-1750 German @jsbach-official @papabach

George Frideric Handel 1685-1759 German/British @georg-fred-handel-official

Classical:

Joseph Haydn 1732-1809 Austrian @josephhaydn-official

Antonio Salieri 1750-1825 Italian @official-antoniosalieri @antoniosalieri-official

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 1756-1791 Austrian @wolfgangamadeusmozart-official @mozart-official

Domenico Dragonetti 1763-1846 Italian @domenicodragonetti-official

Ludwig van Beethoven 1770-1827 German @vanbeethoven-official

Johann Nepomuk Hummel 1778-1837 Austrian @johannhummel-official

Franz Schubert 1797-1828 Austrian @franzschubert-official

Romantic:

Niccolò Paganini 1782-1840 Italian @niccolopaganini-official

Carl Maria von Weber 1786-1826 German @cmvonweber-official

Franz Wilhelm Ferling 1796-1874 German @franzwilhelmferling-official

Hector Berlioz 1803-1869 French @official-hectorberlioz

Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel 1805-1847 German @fannyhensel-official

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy 1809-1847 German @felixmendelssohn-official

Frederic Chopin 1810-1849 Polish @fredericchopin-official @fryderykchopin-official

Robert Schumann 1810-1856 German @robertschumann-official

Franz Liszt 1811-1886 Hungarian @franzliszt-official

Richard Wagner 1813-1883 German @richardwagner-official @wagner-official

Adolphe Sax 1814-1894 Belgian @official-adolphe-sax

Clara Schumann 1819-1896 German @claraschumann-official @official-claraschumann

Anton Bruckner 1824-1896 Austrian @official-anton-bruckner

Johann Strauss II 1825-1899 Austrian @straussii-official

Alexander Borodin 1833-1887 Georgian @alexanderborodin-official

Johannes Brahms 1833-1897 German @johannesbrahms-official

Camille Saint-Saëns 1835-1921 French @saint-saens-official

Modest Mussorgsky 1839-1881 Russian @modestmussorgsky-official @mussorsky-official

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky 1840-1893 Russian @tchaikovsky-official @pyotrtchaikovsky-official

Antonín Dvořák 1841-1904 Czech @antonindvorak-official

Edvard Grieg 1843-1907 Norwegian @edvardgrieg-official

David Popper 1843-1913 Bohemian @official-popper

Paul Taffanel 1844- 1908 French @paultaffanel-official

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov 1844-1908 Russian @rimsky-korsakov-official

John Philip Sousa 1854-1932 American @johnphilipsousa-official

Edward Elgar 1857-1934 English @official-edwardelgar

Cécile Chaminade 1857-1944 French @cecilechaminade-official

Giacomo Puccini 1858-1924 Italian @puccini-official

Gustav Mahler 1860-1911 Austrian @mahler-official

Richard Strauss 1864-1949 German @official-richardstrauss

Jean Sibelius 1865-1957 Finnish @sibelius-official

Vladimi Rebikov 1866-1920 Russian @vladimirrebikov-official

Sergei Rachmaninoff 1873-1943 Russian @sergeirachmaninoff-official

Ottorino Respighi 1879-1936 Italian @ottorinorespighi-official

20th-Century:

Claude Debussy 1862-1918 French @claudedebussy-official

Erik Satie 1866-1925 French @eriksatie-official

Louis Vierne 1870-1937 French @louisvierne-official

Ralph Vaughan Williams 1872-1958 English @ralphvaughanwilliams-official

Alexander Scriabin 1872-1915 Russian @alexanderscriabin-official @scriabin-official

Arnold Schoenberg 1874-1951 Austrian @schoenberg-official

Charles Ives 1874-1954 American @charlesives-official

Gustav Holst 1874-1934 English @gustavholst-official

Maurice Ravel 1875-1937 French @maurice-ravel-official

Béla Bartók 1881-1945 Hungarian @belabartok-official

Percy Aldridge Grainger 1882-1961 Australian @percyaldridgegrainger-official

Igor Stravinsky 1882-1971 Russian @igorstravinsky-official

Alban Berg 1885-1935 Austrian @albanberg-official

Rebecca Clarke 1886-1979 English @rebeccaclarke-official

Sergei Prokofiev 1891-1953 Russian @sergeiprokofiev-official

Leo Ornstein 1893-2002 American @leoornstein-official

Paul Hindemith 1895-1963 German @paul-hindemith-official

George Gershwin 1898-1937 American @georgegerschwin-official @gershwin-official @georgegershwin-official

Aaron Copland 1900-1990 American @aaroncopland-official

William Walton 1902-1983 English @williamwalton-official

Aram Khachaturian 1903-1978 Soviet Armenian @aramkhachaturian-official

Dmitri Shostakovich 1906-1975 Soviet @dmitrishostakovich-official

Olivier Messiaen 1908-1992 French @oliviermessiaen-official

John Cage 1912-1992 American @johncage-official

Benjamin Britten 1913-1976 English @benji-britten-official

Leonard Bernstein 1918-1990 American @bernstein-official

John Williams 1932-present American @johnwilliams-official

Steve Reich 1936-present American @stevereich-official

Philip Glass 1937-present American @philipglass-official

(And just for fun, a couple scientists who like to hang out with Mendelssohn: @dmitrimendeleev-official and @gregormendel-official, as well as Chopin’s friend @official-george-sand)

Please reblog from the source for the latest update!