windows at the Ames-Webster House. remodeled in 1882 for Frederick Ames by the architect John Hubbard Sturgis. This is a very large house, with fifty rooms, 28 fireplaces and over 25,000 square feet. Sturgis was also the architect of the first Museum of Fine Arts in Copley Square. The early 1970s renovation of this house won the Victorian Society preservation award. Hopefully the current ongoing restoration of the past couple of years will not hurt the interior. The tower has a John La Farge ceiling, surrounded by murals by the French Academic Benjamin Constant. The entrance hall is 18x63 feet and 40 feet in height.
Back Bay Boston.